Squash Casserole


Since I’ve found a vegetable that Ryan happily eats, I have been trying lots of new ways to prepare it. First we had the Baked Zucchini Sticks, then the Stuffed Zucchini, and now we have Squash Casserole. This is a Paula Deen recipe so I felt fairly confident that it would go over well, and, as usual, she did not disappoint.

The only major change I made was in the length of time I cooked the zucchini and squash prior to baking it. Her recipe calls for 15-20 minutes on the stove, until it has completely broken down. I read that to mean “mushy” so I cut the cooking time in half. Neither of us enjoys mushy vegetables so I wanted to make sure they still had some texture. I think I ended up cooking them for about 10 minutes, which yielded perfectly tender squash with the right bit of texture for us. I think it also helped that I sliced the vegetables instead of dicing them, which would probably be better if you are trying to break them down completely.

Overall, I really enjoyed the dish, but Ryan wasn’t totally sold on it. He ate it all but said it didn’t taste like what he was expecting; he wished it had been a little cheesier. I thought the sharp cheese mixed with sour cream and topped with butter crackers gave the squash a nice richness for not too many POINTS considering the relatively large portion. I served this alongside last week’s CEiMB recipe, the BBQ Chicken, and store-bought potato salad. I told Ryan, “Well, I guess we really are Southern after this meal!”

Squash Casserole

3 cups zucchini or squash, thinly sliced
2 tsp canola oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 Tbsp light butter
1/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
1/2 tsp Emeril’s Original essence
1 1/2 oz shredded cheddar cheese
1 1/2 oz shredded Parmesan cheese
10 butter crackers (such as Ritz), crushed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Saute the squash in vegetable oil over medium-low heat until tender, about 10 minutes. Line a colander with a clean tea towel. Place the cooked squash in the lined colander. Squeeze excess moisture from the squash. Set aside.

In a medium size skillet, saute the onion in butter for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and mix all ingredients together except cracker crumbs. Pour mixture into a buttered casserole dish and top with cracker crumbs.
Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

Source: “Paula’s Home Cooking”, episode: Farmer’s Market
4 servings | 5 POINTS

September 14, 2009. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Kelly replied:

    I stumbled on your blog via a comment you wrote on an Ellie Krieger mac and cheese using squash that I’m planning on making tonight. I love that you have one of the old weight watchers cards on your blog. My friend found an old set in her mother’s basement and I have been in love with them ever since.

  2. pamela replied:

    Looks good. How big of a serving do you get for the 5 points? I’m recommitting to WW and I’m always looking for yummy options!

  3. Allison (Eat Clean Live Green) replied:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Paula Deen recipe I don’t love – that looks awesome, and not bad for 5 points!

  4. connie b replied:

    Yum, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

