CEiMB: Mexican Tortilla Pizza

This isn’t going to be the first time I’ve posted the following sentence, but, here it goes again… I’m having computer issues. When I told my younger brother this he said, “Wow, you aren’t having much luck with computers lately are you?” No, I’m really not. I am a die-hard Mac fan and am more attached to my Macbook than any other possession I have ever had. It is like an extra appendage that I feel crippled without. My biggest and only complaint about it is the cheap plastic case. I have had cracks along the keyboard multiple times, and last week Ryan discovered a crack along the top of the screen. Luckily the talented people at the Genius Bar are replacing all these pieces for free despite the fact that it is way out of warranty, which is one of the many reasons I am a loyal Apple customer, but, in the meantime, I have been floundering through life laptop-free since last Sunday. It sucks. In less than 48 hours we will be reunited, and I cannot wait. Until then, this post is going to be a little different than my usual posts because my Windows-based clunker of a desktop is just not equipped with all my trusty blogging tools…

I have been looking forward to this week’s CEiMB recipe for a while now for two reasons. First because it was chosen by one of my favorite bloggers, Joanne at Apple Crumbles. If you have any doubts in your mind that vegetarian food can look good, you should definitely check out her blog because she makes delicious-looking, meat-free recipes. I love seeing how she will interpret each CEiMB recipe, and her posts have even inspired me to overcome my fear of tofu. Second because I love Mexican Pizza. Since most of my experiences with Mexican Pizza have been in the form of dining at Taco Bell, I was looking forward to trying this healthier, more refined version.

Ellie’s recipe for a Mexican Tortilla Pizza is her Black Bean Dip spread over a tortilla and topped with chopped tomato and cabbage. Try as I might, I am not a fan of fresh tomato, and I can’t shake the idea that anything called “pizza” needs some sort of cheese so I made a few modifications. I made the Black Bean Dip as described on Food Network (minus the cilantro – ick!), and then topped my pizza with a little bit of sharp cheddar cheese, chopped avocado, salsa, and reduced-fat sour cream. It was delicious! I loved the bean dip on its own, but it was just that much better on the pizza. I love how crispy the tortilla got in the oven. I made this for lunch because Ryan is anti-beans, but when he came home I showed him what I had made. I won’t tell you what he said the dip looked like, but I will say it wasn’t a compliment. I suppose that would be my only complaint about the recipe as well: as quick and easy as it was to make and as delicious as it tasted, the dip itself sure didn’t look very appetizing.

For this week’s recipe please visit Apple Crumbles or you may also find the nutrition information for Ellie’s version of the Mexican Tortilla Pizza on Food Network. The recipe can also be found on p. 174 of “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” by Ellie Krieger.

September 17, 2009. recipes.

9 Comments

  1. pamela replied:

    Well, the picture of your Mexican Pizza looks damn good to me right now! I had one for lunch today, too and used salsa on it. Mmmm…I would love to have some cheese, but I just don’t want to use the WW points for it. I’m saving that for a mini snicker tonight!

  2. alyssa replied:

    It was too weird not putting cheese on a pizza, but I agree, it would make a great dip.

    I will definitely add avocado to this next time – healthy fats, right?!

  3. Mary Ann replied:

    I took a picture of the dip alone, but they didn’t turn out so pretty-so I totally know what you are talking about! Your version of this pizza looks really delicious.

  4. Sarah replied:

    you don’t like cilantro?!

    *feints*

    j/k. I agree with the cheese!!

  5. Elina replied:

    I love how you made the recipe your own. Your tortilla looks so crispy (mine was slightly soggy). I want a bite :)

  6. applec replied:

    Pizza Looks Great! Glad you tried the recipe. As for black bean dip not looking good…know what you mean. I did try but it’s tough to make something that closely resembles things we walk around in the road or fields look good. Oh well… tasted okay! :)

  7. Rachel replied:

    I hated cilantro for the longest time, but now I really like it. Weird!

    I agree that it needed some cheese. If I had baked these I would have added some too.

  8. Lauryn replied:

    Your pizza looks great and I’m glad you enjoyed it. Adding avacados was a great idea!!! I wish I had thought of that!!!

  9. sara replied:

    Your pizza looks excellent, but that bean dip did look like poo. Luckily it didn’t taste like that :)

    Your computer saga sounds so annoying. I had a similar thing just happen to me with my car and the stupid dealership, back and forth back and forth so many times!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

