CEiMB: Sweet and Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

I am sure you are sick of reading about my laptop drama, just as I am sick of experiencing my laptop drama. Today I got a call from the Apple Repair Depot in TX telling me that after some inspection they decided the damage is not the fault of the Genius Bar. Unless I want to have them ship back my un-repaired computer, I need to pay them nearly $800. Ha. Hahaha. So it’s just coincidence that I brought in my perfectly working and usable computer for minor cosmetic repairs only to return home with a computer that won’t even boot up? Convenient for them. The part that makes me most sad is how much of a fan of Apple I am, and how much I hate Windows-based computers. Now I feel like I can’t win either way, and I assure you that I am in no way paying that kind of money for a repair when I could nearly buy a new computer for that price. I guess it is to be decided which of my two options is the lesser of two evils. All I can say is at least Apple employees have all been super friendly and helpful throughout the process, unlike the incompetent, rude technicians I spoke to at Hewlett Packard a few months ago. In the meantime, I will continue to use my cruddy desktop, which is both cumbersome and obnoxious.

On to happier news. Is there anything more comforting than soup and grilled cheese? I tend to think there isn’t. As a kid, my mom would always make me chicken noodle soup and grilled cheese when I was sick. So, when you are stressed out, what better way to comfort yourself with the same treatment Mom would give you? Luckily for me, this week’s CEiMB recipe does just that. Leslie at Lethally Delicious chose this sweet and spicy twist on the classic grilled cheese. I am typically an American cheese on white bread type of girl, but the prospect of a slightly refined, somewhat spicy kick to my old standby was intriguing.

To my pleasant surprise, these sandwiches turned out a crispy golden brown without using any butter in the pan. I was sure they would stick, but my fear was unwarranted. Placing a heavy pan on top of the grilled cheeses while they cooked was also a new idea for me, but I love the way it held everything together – no spilling out the sides as I flipped the sandwiches which is a common problem I have. Even though I am not a fan of fresh tomatoes, I decided to try it in this recipe. It seems like tomato and grilled cheese is a popular combination, and I thought it deserved a fair chance. Unfortunately, I just can’t get behind that. The spicy pepper jack cheese and browned onions were a delicious addition, but I’ll be leaving the tomato off next time; it overwhelmed all the other flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

2 teaspoons canola oil
1 large onion, diced
3 ounces sharp Cheddar cheese slices
8 slices wheat bread
3 ounces pepper Jack cheese slices
1 medium tomato, sliced

Heat oil in a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Lower heat to medium. Add onions and saute, stirring, until edges are browned, about 10 to 12 minutes. Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste.

Place 3/4-ounce Cheddar on 1 slice bread. Spread 1 tablespoon caramelized onions on top of cheese and top with 3/4-ounce pepper Jack. Top with 1 large or 2 medium slices tomato and other slice of bread. Repeat with 3 other sandwiches.

Spray a nonstick skillet or griddle with cooking spray and heat until hot. Place sandwich on griddle and weigh down with a heavy skillet or plate. Lower heat to medium-low and grill until underside is a deep brown but not burnt and cheese is partially melted, about 5 to 6 minutes. Flip sandwich and grill other side, an additional 4 to 5 minutes. Slice in half and serve hot.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 95
4 servings

September 24, 2009. recipes.

8 Comments

  1. applec replied:

    The samys look fantastic. I agree on the tomato..it detracted from the cheesey taste. I mean..what’s the point of GC Samys anyway?!!!

  2. Lauryn replied:

    oh man, can’t believe your computer issues! That is so frustrating! Your sandwich looks excellent though! I left out the tomato on mine. It was delish!

  3. Lindsay replied:

    That looks really good! I would leave out the tomato too. I don’t like anything to compete with the cheesy goodness of a grilled cheese!

  4. sara replied:

    oh more computer woes. that sucks. luckily Nick is fairly competent when it comes to computers so he has our desktop and my laptop set up for linux (instead of the horrendously annoying and proprietary windows). Linux systems and most accompanying software are free, the only problem is that you will need to do some programming to customize things to work the way you want. Might be something to look into for you.

    The sandwich looks awesome, I left out the tomato on mine, I don;t need any pesky tomatoes in the way in my cheese sandwich!

  5. Allison replied:

    Hi! Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog! I love your blog and everything you make looks so good! I’m glad you are so into avocados lately, I love them, we should share recipes :)

  6. Leslie replied:

    Wow, this looks fantastic! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one! I can’t get over how much trouble you’re having with your Mac (I crossed over from the dark side to the Mac last year and love it). I hope it all works out in the end…maybe a call to Steve Jobs at Apple HQ in Cupertino might get you some needed attention… Anyway, thanks for cooking with me this week, it was a lot of fun!

  7. laura replied:

    your sandwich looks amazing!! what a great photo.

  8. Sarah replied:

    I make this all the time- it’s amazing!! I loved the tomato on it though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

