CEiMB: New York Breakfast

This week’s CEiMB recipe is courtesy of one of my favorite bloggers, Sara at imafoodblog. I feel a little guilty identifying her as one of my favorites since we do have quite a great group of bloggers at CEiMB, but, well, she seems to do it all (even manages to do it all well – even better!) so I think she deserves the accolades. You see, on top of running her own awesome blog, she is also the lovely hostess of CEiMB, and, I’m not sure how, but she also finds time to participate in a couple other blogging events. Quite admirable. Not to mention, I’ve made several of her recipes which are all delicious. I think I would like to live closer to her and just drop by for dinner on a regular basis. Maybe she’s now glad I’m safely several states away…

On to the recipe: a New York Breakfast is not my typical idea of breakfast. I’m an eggs girl. It’s even farther from what Ryan considers breakfast; he likes something sweet such as French toast or pancakes. Neither of us could really wrap our heads around eating this first thing in the morning, so we had it for lunch last weekend. Well, we tried to have it for lunch.

The thing is, Ryan doesn’t really like salmon, smoked things, or cream cheese. I was pretty confident that he wouldn’t end up liking it, but he gave it an honest try. Neither of us really cares for fresh tomato, so I substituted diced red bell pepper in its place to add color and some crunch. As for me, well, I thought it could go either way. I’ve never had smoked salmon before, but, unlike Ryan, I like salmon and various smoked goods so I wasn’t too worried. I wasn’t too worried until I opened the package and handled the salmon, that is. The texture of it was just not to my liking, and it smelled smokier than I had imagined. I can’t really explain what it felt like, but it did make me nervous. Ryan basically gave up on liking it before he even tried it, though he did take a bite before deciding for certain. I went into it with slightly more enthusiasm, but, in the end, only lasted two bites. I liked the flavor of all the components together, though I did think the smokiness of the salmon overpowered the other ingredients a bit, but I just couldn’t get past the texture.

Ryan’s cats, on the other hand, were going absolutely crazy for the salmon. (Yes, they are his cats, not ours; I’m not a cat person – especially when they’re being bad, as these two frequently are.) I refused to let them have any, much to their chagrin, though that didn’t stop them from trying to attack me or the garbage can. Aside from the texture, my other complaint about smoked salmon is that the scent lingered on my hands for a very long time. I washed my hands four times in kitchen soap that Softsoap promised would rid my hands of kitchen odors such as garlic. Apparently smoked salmon is not one of the kitchen odors their product will work against.

New York Breakfast

8 pieces thin pumpernickel bread
1/4 cup whipped cream cheese
8 ounces thinly sliced smoked salmon
1/4 English cucumber, thinly sliced
1 medium red bell pepper, diced
2 teaspoons chopped chives
Salt and pepper

Toast the bread and spread 1 1/2 teaspoons of cream cheese on top of each piece. Put a slice of smoked salmon, one or 2 slices of cucumber, and about 1 tablespoon of red bell pepper on top of that. Sprinkle with chives and season with salt and pepper.

Source: “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” by Ellie Krieger, p. 25
8 servings

October 1, 2009. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Joanne replied:

    We aren’t huge fans of smoked salmon. But Ted didn’t mind this breakfast and I appreciated it for a change to my usual weekday oats. I did add eggs to ours and only trusted myself with the tiniest sliver of s.salmon in order to get it down.

  2. Leslie replied:

    Hilarious! You reminded me that my cat was like glue when I was eating this sandwich. At least you gave it a try. I agree that smoked salmon has a funky slimy feel.

  3. Sara replied:

    haha, well first of all, you are welcome anytime for any meal at our house :) And thanks for all the compliments, I like it over here at TNSSK ;)

    Thanks for trying this out. I get that this is something that people either love or hate. And I agree that the smell does linger and the texture is hard for some people to get over. Maybe you would like the cold smoked stuff better, it has a way less smokey flavor.

  4. Kayte replied:

    I have to admire you for giving it a fair shot…I would say that you definitely were a part of the team and that you did your best. And now the cats love you. It looks very pretty and I like the idea of the red peppers on the top!

  5. maris replied:

    I love including veggies in my breakfast! I always feel so much more virtuous and usually they’re quite filling!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

