CEiMB: Tuscan Vegetable Soup

I’m not sure what the weather is like where you live, but here in the suburbs of Atlanta, it does not feel like October. We’ve been getting a lot of rain interspersed with some really warm, dare I say hot even, humid days. Last Friday’s high was 85. Eighty-five! In October! There will be those of you who will hear that and be jealous, but, after a long, hot summer, I am ready for Fall! I’m ready to put on a cozy sweater, curl up on the couch with all my boys under a fleece blanket, and drink a warm spicy treat. Unfortunately, that is not to be, at least not for a while.

Soup is another one of those coveted Fall must-haves. Is there anything better than hot soup on a cold evening? I always think of the commercials where a snowman comes inside, sits down at the kitchen table, and starts eating some soup. Then you see the snow dripping off into a pool of melty slush, and it was actually a boy. The idea is that the soup warmed him. It’s true, I feel like soup warms me up from the inside out. Even though I wouldn’t exactly call this soup weather, there is something inherently comforting about a bowl of soup, and thanks to a huge storm rolling through the area, today was a perfect day to partake in some soul-soothing yumminess.

I want to extend my thanks to Pam at Lobster and Fishsticks for picking this week’s CEiMB recipe because it isn’t something I would have chosen myself, and then I would have been missing out on a great recipe. For the most part, I stuck to the recipe as written, and it turned out wonderfully! My apartment smelled awesome, like I had something simmering on the stove all day, but this soup comes together very quickly. The first change I made was in regards to the amount of salt. I decided to only add half the amount of salt called for because I knew I could add more later if necessary. It was more than enough salt for me, especially once I added a bit of Parmesan cheese. Next time, I might omit the salt completely. I also added more garlic and vegetables in general since veggies are a great way to bulk up soup and add bulk without lots of calories. The only other thing I changed was due to an error on my part. I was so sure I had sage, but it was nowhere to be found when I went to add it. A quick Google search told me I could substitute rosemary in its place so that is what I used instead. Overall, I was really happy with this recipe and wouldn’t change a thing.

Tuscan Vegetable Soup

15 ounces low-sodium canellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1/2 cup chopped carrot
2 stalks celery, diced
2 small zucchini, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried thyme leave
1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
14.5 ounces no salt added diced tomatoes
2 cups baby spinach leaves

In a small bowl mash half of the beans with a masher or the back of a spoon, and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, garlic, thyme, rosemary, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and cook stirring occasionally until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes.

Add the broth and tomatoes with the juice and bring to a boil. Add the mashed and whole beans and the spinach leaves and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes more.

Serve topped with Parmesan, if desired.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 85
6 servings

October 15, 2009. recipes.

11 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    Our soups look very similar! Of course, that’s because we used the same recipe…and what a great recipe that was to use! This is going to be a staple around here, and I can see it simmering away all winter easily…lots of flu and cold fighting ingredients in this one bowl! Yours looks wonderful!

  2. amanda @ fake ginger replied:

    Yum, your soup looks delicious! Mine seemed to be more broth than anything but yours looks like it’s packed with veggies!

    I hear you on the weather. It’s 80 here at 10 am! Ugh!

  3. Joanne replied:

    It looks great! It is very rarely too warm in NY to not enjoy soup. This recipe will go down as a keeper throughout the winter.

  4. Lauryn replied:

    yum!!! your soup looks awesome! i love that photo! I really enjoyed this too!

  5. pamela replied:

    Thanks for that tip on the rosemary. I will have to give that one a try next time around. I hope fall finds you soon!!

  6. Maria replied:

    Your soup is gorgeous!
    We had snow here yesterday…..so I don’t know what’s worse at this point…..too hot for the Fall, or way to cold!

  7. Elina replied:

    I had a mishap on Wednesday so I had to make Wednesday’s dinner yesterday. Looks like a missed a great recipe (same here – normally I wouldn’t have picked it, but that’s why this little club is so great!).
    Oh and I AM jealous to hear it’s warm out where you are. I want summer back! It’s 20 degrees here. Not cool.

  8. Elina replied:

    Hehe, no pun intended on that last sentence above :lol:

  9. maris replied:

    This sounds so good and healthy! I’m making butternut squash bisque today but this is going to be the next soup on my list. We have a long fall/winter season ahead of us! :)

  10. Leslie replied:

    Wow, does this look great! I hope you get cooler weather soon (our summer never materialized, so I’m not looking forward to our cold, wet winter weather).

  11. Sara replied:

    This soup was SO good.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

