The Not So Skinny Kitchen turns 1!

When I look back to the start of this blog, I realize how much I’ve grown. I had been posting pictures and recipes on Flickr for a few months but wanted a new format, and a blog seemed like the next logical step as well as a good way to share recipes with my friends and family. Even though I was taking pictures of the recipes, trying to get the best shot wasn’t something I really thought about trying to accomplish. I only read a few other blogs at that time so I wasn’t incredibly comfortable with what kind of content to add to my posts either. I like to think that over time my posts have improved in both areas. I am not a professional photographer by any means, but I do actually stop to think about what will look good. Where I used to take one quick photo and hope for the best, it’s not uncommon for there to be 20 pictures of each recipe now. I still struggle with the written part. As I’ve come to know more of my readers from reading their blogs and interacting with them, I feel compelled to share things about my life in my posts instead of just saying, “This was good. That was not good.”

The area where I see most change, however, is in how “brave” Ryan and I are when it comes to facing new foods and flavors. We were enjoying lunch at Panera earlier today; his sandwich had tomatoes and chipotle mayo on it while mine had a tomato ale mustard. Maybe that seems like a small thing, but a year ago I wouldn’t have come within a foot of mustard nor would he have tried anything with any type of mayonnaise or vegetable on it! There we were, trying something totally new and enjoying it. This blog has inspired us to eat and prepare things we never would have before. Mushrooms, mustard, mayonnaise, tofu, tomatoes, feta cheese, curry, Greek yogurt, spinach, zucchini, couscous, meatloaf, kale, avocado, risotto and steak are just a few of the things we’ve tried that we wouldn’t have otherwise. Not all of them have been a success, but most of them were. Of all the new things we tried, all 125+ new recipes I cooked this year, there were less than a handful that we simply would not eat.

This week, as my blog turns a year old, I want to pay homage to those recipes that stood out above the rest. Ryan and I each picked five recipes to create The Not So Skinny Kitchen’s Top 10 Recipes from Year One (in no particular order):

Pad Thai

Barbecue Pork Roast

Thai-Style Halibut with Coconut-Curry Broth

Shrimp and Grits with Bacon

Sausage and Pepper Calzone

Twice Baked Potatoes

Herbed Pork Loin with Apples and Garlic

Crispy Baked “Fried” Chicken

Apple, Cheddar, and Turkey Meatballs

Grilled Thai Beef Salad

Can you guess which recipes we each picked? I bet the last one will surprise you.

Hopefully this week I will finally be able to unveil The Not So Skinny Kitchen’s new home, but at this point, we are having some technical difficulties. Given my limited technological abilities, moving the site has been quite an ordeal. In the meantime, tell me, which of the recipes you’ve made this past year has been your favorite? Did you try something you never thought you would like and end up loving it?

November 2, 2009. recipes.

12 Comments

  1. Ryan replied:

    Seeing all these pictures in one place reminds me that you have become quite the professional food photographer. Very impressive. Now can you make me a twice-baked potato please? ;-)

  2. maryann replied:

    Happy Birthday! Well done. I look forward to reading about you and of course your wonderful recipes. I haven’t made too many because, after all Jim (Ryan’s dad) is the king of picky eaters.

  3. Sara replied:

    Yay! Happy Blog Birthday :) I will admit that a lot of the time when I “read” blogs I do more scanning and scrolling than reading, but I always enjoy reading your posts and seeing what you have made. You are super honest about cooking and how recipes come out, and there is always some entertaining as well, like say that birthday dog, who I am now obsessed with. I seriously might make that my desktop wallpaper at work tomorrow.

    And I am happy to see not one but two Ellie recipes in your top ten :)

  4. Jenn replied:

    Yay! I’m excited to see that the recipe inspired by my wedding made the top 10! Congrats on a great year- I’m sure there will be many more great recipes in the future!

  5. maris replied:

    Congratulations! Happy 1 year – I can tell you’ve already come a long way on your blog and I can’t wait to see what’s around the corner.

  6. Amy I. replied:

    Congrats Liz! Blogging has also helped me open my eyes (and mouth) to foods that I used to claim to hate. Keep up the good work :)

  7. Elina replied:

    I definitely got my husband to be more open minded since I started cooking and writing my blog. Last night we were having tofu and he said he was sure any tofu-hater would enjoy this. I said: “I think you may be more used to “out of the box” dishes by now.” He agreed. Most of the recipes I made were also a success. The only thing I couldn’t get him to like was lentil soup. Oh well :)
    A favorite would be hard to choose. I think the creation I was most proud of was the peanut butter/chocolate cake I made for a friend’s birthday. It was the most elaborate thing I’ve ever made and it came out not only delicious but also beautiful :D
    Love all your pictures!! Happy blog anniversary!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Lu replied:

    Happy blog anniversary! That food looks great. I’m trying at least 2 of the recipes you show. Mmmmm.

  9. Joanne replied:

    Love the sound of the meatballs using apples.
    Everything looks so delicious. Thank goodness we already ate or I’d be trying to get my hands on one of everything.

  10. Kayte replied:

    Oh, this was such a fun post! First, I love this week’s recipe. It was nice hearing your changes and reminded me that this recipe is just made for changing things up a bit with veggies, kinds of pasta, etc. Wonderful aspect to this recipe. Second, your blog birthday post was so gorgeous…all those photos are amazing…wow, kudos to you on that alone. Also, very lovely food…can I have invitation to dinner sometime soon please???? Seriously…it all looks just wonderful.

  11. chayacomfycook replied:

    This is a wonderful idea. I hope I remember to do something like this, when I turn a year old, not for a long time yet.

    Even, in the few months, I have been blogging, I have discovered a whole new world of food. This is an adventure. I think your choices chronicle your own cooking growth (and I don’t know you).

    I want the twice baked potatoes also.

  12. Allison replied:

    Happy Blog birthday Liz!!! Your pictures are great and I really have enjoyed your blog, I hope that you will keep it up and keep on trying new things!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

