CEiMB: Linguini with Shrimp

If you saw my last post, you saw that two of the recipes Ryan and I chose for our top ten list of the past year’s best recipes came from Ellie Krieger. What I really love about participating in CEiMB is that I am motivated to try recipes I wouldn’t necessarily have picked for myself. Of course, every week’s choice is met with a differing level of enthusiasm. Since we all have very different preferences, some things just don’t sound as good as others to me, but most times I have been pleasantly surprised. In fact, I can only think of a couple recipes that we just really didn’t like. Yet, I still approach some recipes with hesitation. This week’s recipe fit into that category.

I love shrimp, and I love pasta. We were good on that front. The asparagus and cherry tomatoes are where I started to worry. I think I’ve mentioned before that despite my love of almost every variety of tomato product, I do not like fresh tomatoes. In their place I decided to use canned cherry tomatoes from my grandma’s garden. I can’t explain why I like them canned but not fresh; it defies explanation but is true nonetheless. I also decided to omit the asparagus but added an onion instead. The only other change I made was in not adding the pasta water; since the tomatoes I used had juice with them, I didn’t need any more liquid.

Even still, with these substitutions and changes, I just wasn’t sure how this recipe was going to turn out. The picture on Food Network’s site looks awesome, but I was afraid there wouldn’t be enough flavor. As I was mixing mine all together, it smelled great, but I was still unsure. Some people like their pasta with a side of sauce; I prefer my sauce with a side of pasta. How could this turn out well and have enough flavor when I could see all that pasta? Well, despite my conviction that this dish would be boring, it was awesome! We both really enjoyed it, and I love that it came together really quickly. The only thing I would change when making this again would be to skip the parsley. I could not find flat leaf parsley, which is always a problem for me around here, so I used curly parsley. I’m not sure if there is a flavor difference or not, but I found the parsley to be incredibly overpowering. I didn’t even use as much as the recipe called for, and it was too much. I love the pop of green; the presentation is beautiful, but I didn’t enjoy that flavor.

Thanks to Confessions of a Novice Baker for a great selection, and to Ellie, I’m sorry for doubting you.

Linguini with Shrimp

1 13 ounce box of whole wheat linguini
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup white wine
about 2 cups of canned tomatoes in juice
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup freshly chopped flat-leaf parsley

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the linguini and cook according to the directions on the box. Drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large skillet over a medium-high flame. Add the onion and saute until tender. Add garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the shrimp and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, until the shrimp turn pink. Remove the shrimp from the pan and set aside. Add the lemon juice and white wine. Let simmer until the liquid is reduced by about half. Add the tomatoes, and crush lightly using the back of a spoon. Heat through. Return the shrimp to the pan and stir in the parsley. Add the drained linguini to the shrimp mixture, tossing to combine. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 160

November 5, 2009. recipes.

11 Comments

  1. Joanne replied:

    We really enjoyed it. It was light and tastey. The perfect meal.

  2. Amy I. replied:

    I’m glad you were pleasantly surprised by this one! I have to give you a lot of credit… I’ve been skipping out on the weeks where the recipe doesn’t appeal to me, instead of trying to modify it so it works for me. I had the (possibly poor, possibly realistic) attitude that, if I’m going to the effort of cooking something, I want it to sound 100% delicious from the get-go. I really admire that you always seem to be pushing your foodie comfort zone and winding up with a positive result :)

  3. Farah replied:

    Your pasta looks so delicious, great photo!
    I’m so glad you tried this dish, even though you had apprehensions. It’s great when things turn out better than expected :)

  4. chayacomfycook replied:

    This photo is fantastic. If it could just come alive so everyone could share in i t.

  5. Shannon (The Daily Balance) replied:

    this looks DELISH! thanks for sharing!

    love your blog, by the way!

  6. Erin replied:

    Holy cow that looks fabulous!

  7. Elina replied:

    This looks gorgeous. I ended up being too busy last night and had to skip the week’s CEiMB pick and went for take-out instead. Packing took priority. Maybe I’ll try this recipe in a few weeks anyway :)

  8. Maria replied:

    I agree, Ellie makes me “cook out of the box” and I am forever grateful to her!
    Beautiful picture!

  9. Sara replied:

    Well, there was a lot of parsley called for in this recipe. I can see how it could be overpowering. I also hate fresh tomatoes, so I just add the cherry tomatoes earlier and let them cook down so they are not so raw. This works for me.

    I love your family style serving picture, looks great :)

  10. pamela replied:

    Your subs sound good and your picture is mouth watering!

  11. maris replied:

    Love shrimp and I definitely don’t make it enough! Sounds delish.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

