Guest Post: Corn Pudding from FatGirlEats

Greetings! My name is Meg, and I have a little food blog called FatGirlEats. I’m thrilled to be writing a guest blog post for one of my favorite food blogs, TNSSK!

I want to write about my absolute favorite thing to bring to a potluck (or covered dish meal, if you’re not familiar with the term “potluck”). This dish is fabulous. It’s not particularly healthy. It’s easy to make, and very difficult to mess up. It tastes great hot, at room temperature, or cold. It’s great left over (if you’re lucky enough to have leftovers). It’s just plain fabulous, and it’s a recipe that’s been around since practically the dawn of time. Or maybe just since the 1930s, when the Jiffy mixes began to be manufactured. Rumor has it that this is a real Jiffy recipe (like, off the back of the box), but I can’t find it on Jiffy’s website, so maybe it’s not. That actually kind of lends an aura of folklore to this recipe, don’t you think? Mysterious origins, and all that.

It’s called Corn Pudding. I know. That sounds kind of odd. Here’s what you’ll need to make it:

1 box Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix
1 stick of butter
1 can creamed corn
1 can whole kernel corn
1 8oz container sour cream

Preheat your oven to 350. Mix all that stuff together in a big bowl. Add the muffin mix last. I don’t know why. Just do it. Spray the heck out of a baking dish. One recipe will go into a 9×9 or a medium-sized Corningware dish. But I rarely make just one recipe. I double everything and put it in a 9×13.

Anyway… Spray the heck out of whatever dish you’ve chosen, pour the mix in, and bake for about 45 minutes, until it’s firm-ish in the middle and slightly brown on the top (you’ll want to decrease the time if you’ve put just one recipe in a bigger dish just because it’s thinner). Pull it out of the oven, and serve… whenever. It’s seriously yummy at any temperature. Enjoy!

November 10, 2009. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. missyrayn replied:

    That sounds good. I think I’ll make that for our Christmas pot luck :-)

  2. Jessica replied:

    This is absolutely my favorite dish EVER!!!! As Meg said, I take this to all my potluck dinners :)

  3. Lu replied:

    My mother-in-law makes that dish. I love it. I haven’t particularly mastered it yet, but I’m trying.

  4. Leslie replied:

    Wow, this sounds delicious and easy! I’m a sucker for good cornbread, so this would be perfect.

  5. peggy replied:

    I make this dish too and it is always sooooo good. Hope you are having a great week and thank you for reminding me of the corn pudding. I’ll have to make some soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

