CEiMB: Peach French Toast Bake

Last weekend Ryan and I celebrated our six year anniversary. Sometimes it’s hard to believe it was that long ago when we first met; it doesn’t feel like six years have passed because I still think of us as the same kids we were back then. When I really stop to think about it, I can see how much we’ve grown both as individuals and as a couple, and it makes me proud of the relationship we’ve built.

The other day, my mom was telling me that my grandmother was telling her how much she likes Ryan. She said we’re very cute together. I laughed and told my mom it feels weird to still be called “cute together”. And then my mom gave me the nicest compliment. She told me that she agrees with my grandma and that she thinks Ryan and I are great together. She said she can see the happiness we have and can always tell we have so much fun. I say it’s the nicest compliment for two reasons. First off, my mom did not start out as the biggest fan of Ryan, but he has since become family. Second, I just love to think that somehow Ryan and I give off good energy, that people can see and feel our happiness. Cheesy, I know. It’s just, with everything life has been throwing at us lately, it’s been great to have someone by my side who does make everything fun. I’m very thankful for that.

When I found out that my week of hosting CEiMB would come after our anniversary, I immediately knew my choice would be something special that we could make the weekend ahead to aid in our celebration. I wrestled with a few different ideas, and it was finally narrowed down to Peach French Toast Bake or Cowboy Steak. Ryan REALLY wanted the steak, but I didn’t think it would be as versatile so I picked the French toast. (By the way, we still made the steak anyway, and neither of us cared for it at all.) I was won over by the idea of making it the night before and having a nice breakfast ready to go without much effort. In that regard, it was super easy. Though I will say that I could not get all the bread to fit in a single layer, so I only used about 3/4 of the ingredients. Don’t worry, the extra slices of bread were put to good use because, really, what’s better than bread and butter? Not much.

I think the problem is that I don’t like French toast and Ryan doesn’t care for peaches. Overall, I thought it came out really bland. I saw some suggestions to add more vanilla or some spices to the egg mixture or even to use a cinnamon or raisin bread – I think any of these would have been great options, and I wish I had seen them before I made this. The tartness of the peaches with the somewhat sweet bread was not a winner for me. Being a big French toast fan, Ryan ate a bit more of it than I did, but neither of us was impressed. I’ve tried a few variations on French toast and have yet to be won over so I don’t see this being a repeat in our house, unfortunately.

Peach French Toast Bake

Cooking spray
3/4 large baguette
3 whole eggs
3 egg whites
3/4 cup low fat milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups sliced frozen peaches
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 tablespoons brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Spray a 9 by 13-inch baking pan with cooking spray. Slice the baguette into 1/2-inch slices and arrange the slices in a single layer in the baking pan.

Whisk together the eggs, egg whites, milk and vanilla. Pour the egg mixture over the bread in the pan.

In a medium bowl, toss peaches with the lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of the brown sugar. Scatter the peach slices evenly on top of the bread.

Combine the remaining brown sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over the top.

Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350. Uncover, and bake for 40 minutes.

Source: “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” by Ellie Krieger, p. 35

November 19, 2009. recipes.

13 Comments

  1. pamela replied:

    Happy Anniversary! Congrats on six years together. You guys sound like a perfect fit together.

    I thought this was a very good choice. I guess it could have used a little more oomph, perhaps vanilla or spices, as you said. I liked putting it together and knowing it would be there in the morning, too. There are lots of yummy versions of this type of dish out there. Of course, they won’t be as figure friendly, but…everything in moderation! Thanks for a tasty pick. :o)

  2. Joanne replied:

    Great pick! Sorry you werent’ thrilled. I’m not a pancake, waffle, OR french toast fan but Ted is. We were both lucky because we thought this recipe resulted in something more like Bread Pudding. I used pears instead of peaches and cut the sugar. We …well, TED..added vanilla protein powder to the mix. Maybe that gave it more flavor and changed the texture. It was still a hit with us and TEd is STILL enjoying the few pieces he tucked away in fridge and freezer.

  3. Jessica @ JJsVinBlanc replied:

    We really enjoyed your pick!

  4. Lauryn replied:

    Happy anniversary!!! I wasn’t in love with this one either…your photo look great though!

  5. Alyssa replied:

    Happy Belated Anniversary!

    Isn’t it crazy to look back and think about how fast time flies, but also how the time is filled with all sorts of memories? I just laugh thinking of Kyle and I and the things I remember over the last 7 or so years.

    Thanks for picking this recipe. It was a little more bland than the normal Paula Dean French Toast Bake I make, but it still was good considering it had 254 calories. I added nutmeg to mine and I think that helped.

    Cheers!

  6. Margaret replied:

    YAY!! Six Years. Happy Anni!!

    I’m with you on this one. It was a little bland, but I will try it again – so easy – with more spices and see how it turns out. It was a nice pick, tho’.

  7. chayacomfycook replied:

    Happy Anniversay, a week late.

    Since, this was not your favorit, treat yourself to your favorite dinner with the hubby. I should offer to come cook for you but I have a feeling, yours will be better.

  8. Elina replied:

    I’ve made this dish before and my slices didn’t fit into the pan either, so I double layered. This time I only made 2 servings so this wasn’t a problem… I also added some cinnamon to the egg mixture, but overall found the dish pretty bland as well. I’m actually a huge french toast fan but something was definitely missing there. I like the idea of using raisin bread or maybe adding a sweetener to the egg mixture because this was bordering on savory, despite having fruit and sugar on top :(
    Isn’t having a great hubby the best?!! I’ve heard the same things said about me and my husband. It’s cool to know that people can see our love for each other :)

  9. Mary Ann replied:

    Sorry you didn’t love your own pick! That kinda stinks. Happy Anniversary though!

  10. Amy I. replied:

    Hi Liz! Hope you had a fabulous anniversary. I’m sorry I had to skip out on your hosting week.. I *just* posted another baked french toast recipe this week, so I was more than a little burnt out on it :) Bummer that it wasn’t your favorite. If you’re interested in trying again, though, the one I made was fabulous (although super decadent, rich, and full of cream and butter, ha!). And it’s more like bread pudding than french toast, which could be good since you’re not a big french toast fan in the first place. Hope the rest of your anniversary eats were more tasty!

  11. Farah replied:

    Happy anniversary. Thanks you for this great choice. Very easy to make and loved it. It is more like bread pudding, which i love!

  12. Maria replied:

    Congrats!

    Yours looks so good!
    I skipped this week but when i try the recipe out, i will def. have to add some cinnamon to de-bland it……=))

  13. Sara replied:

    Awww, happy anniversary! Nick and I have also been together a long time – 8 years – sometimes it is hard to fathom that we have spent so much of our lives together :) I agree that it makes everything so much better when there is someone you love by your side.

    As written, this recipe is a bit bland, which I find in many Ellie recipes. Sometimes I don’t understand what she was thinking, but once you add some spices this is pretty good. THough it is no real substitute for true crispy buttery French toast. You should try it with some different fruit, there is a similar recipe in her new book with blueberries.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

