Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

With Thanksgiving right around the corner, we’re all dreaming of our favorite traditional treats, right? I’m not a big fan of turkey, but there is one Thursday each year when I can’t imagine eating anything else. I don’t like anything too fussy; just give me turkey, dressing, and mashed potatoes and gravy. Those are my staples. Typically my family has enough food for an army, and we end up with five or six other dishes as well. Ham, cheese potatoes, bread, cranberry salad, veggies, corn pudding, and then there are the desserts. It promises to be quite the spread this year as well.

I’ve been seeing all these lists of ways to survive the holidays in regards to staying on a diet. I love to think that there are some disciplined people out there who manage to keep completely healthy over the holidays. Personally, I am not one of those people, and maybe they don’t really exist. If, by chance, those people do exist, this recipe is for them! A healthy alternative for mashed potatoes – faux potatoes!

I’ve never had mashed cauliflower before, but I’ve always heard good things about it. I don’t usually like cauliflower though I don’t dislike it either so I came into this pretty open-minded. Even Ryan was more intrigued than hesitant. The verdict? I will definitely eat mashed cauliflower again. I don’t know that it can really substitute potatoes (at least not for me), but I did like the texture. My only complaint with this recipe is that aside from a really strong garlic flavor, they were a little bland. I’m guessing with a little tweaking this recipe could be fantastic.

Creamy Mashed Cauliflower

8 cups bite-size cauliflower florets (about 1 head)
4 cloves garlic, crushed and peeled
1/3 cup nonfat buttermilk
4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
1 teaspoon butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper to taste
Snipped fresh chives for garnish

Place florets and garlic in a microwave-safe bowl with 1/4 cup water, cover and microwave on High for 3 to 5 minutes.

Place the cooked cauliflower and garlic in a food processor. Add buttermilk, 2 teaspoons oil, butter, salt and pepper; pulse several times, then process until smooth and creamy. Transfer to a serving bowl. Drizzle with the remaining 2 teaspoons oil and garnish with chives, if desired. Serve hot.

Source: Eating Well
4 servings

November 24, 2009. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Jenn replied:

    We are always talking about mashed cauliflower at my WW meeting for some reason. The verdict consensus is to use it as a healthier alternative to mashed potatoes, and have it still taste like potatoes, is to do half cauliflower, half potato. I’ve been meaning to try it!

    I’ve had the mashed cauliflower at Ruby Tuesday and it was pretty good!

  2. Elina replied:

    Hehe, I am definitely not one of those people (blogged about it today). Happy Thanksgiving! :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

