Sesame-Orange Chicken Stir-Fry


The little blurb above the original recipe says that stir-fries are an easy way to get more vegetables. Now she is speaking of her children’s diets, but I think it’s true across the board. I used to feel like I had to hide the veggies that were in the dishes I made, but now it’s all out on the table. And guess what. Ryan greets vegetables with open arms!! He really likes broccoli and spinach, which when added to the zucchini and green pepper he started liking in the past six months is really quite a collection. I’m being serious, not snarky. Since starting this blog just over a year ago we have gone from him picking around any green thing that might be hiding in his dish (and even those were few and far between because I knew he wouldn’t eat it) to him getting excited when I tell him we’re making a vegetable-laden stir fry. Instead of asking “Is there broccoli in it?” with a grimace on his face, he now asks the question with enthusiasm and excitement. I almost can’t believe it myself. I am both proud and inspired by his foodie transformation. His willingness to open himself up to these new foods is pretty awesome.

This stir-fry, on the other hand, was not as awesome. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it was not awesome. The name is totally deceptive because I did not taste sesame or orange in the final product. At first I thought maybe my palate was not refined enough, but after reading the reviews, I’m not the only one with this complaint. The sauce was still good, especially when I tasted it on its own. The problem is that once you add it to the stir-fry it gets a little bland. I added some more soy sauce and crushed red pepper flakes to liven mine up a bit; it would definitely be easy enough to cater it to your tastes so don’t let the blandness scare you off. I do think this is a good sauce, just needed a bit stronger flavor, and don’t expect sesame or orange. Since I was just throwing this together one night based on what I had on-hand, my vegetable mix is different than the original recipe, but I think any vegetables would work.

Sesame-Orange Chicken Stir-Fry
SAUCE:
1 cup water
1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup orange juice
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon dark sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
14 ounces chicken broth

STIR-FRY:
1 tablespoon olive oil, divided
2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 broccoli florets
1 medium bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 small can diced water chestnuts
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, chopped

1. To prepare sauce, combine the first 11 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Set aside.

2. To prepare stir-fry, heat 1/2 tablespoon olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken to pan, and stir-fry for 4 minutes or until done. Remove chicken from pan, and keep warm. Add the remaining 1/2 tablespoon olive oil to pan. Add broccoli and remaining ingredients to the pan; stir-fry for 4 minutes or until the vegetables are crisp-tender. Return chicken to pan. Add sauce, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 5 minutes or until the sauce thickens. Serve over rice.

Source: Cooking Light

January 20, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. amanda replied:

    I was so excited by the title but I’m sad to read a so-so review. :( It looks really good though, your picture is lovely!

  2. Elina replied:

    My husband also got so much better with veggies. He now loves brussels sprouts. Pretty cool.
    Sorry to hear about the stir fry not being great. I really hate when names are misleading and you have an idea in your head of what it will taste like, and then it’s not like that at all. Oh well, at least you ate a bunch of veggies – they’re good for you ;)

  3. connie b replied:

    Oh my goodness, this looks devine!! Thanks for posting!

  4. chayacomfycook replied:

    No matter your disappointment (I guess it does matter to you), your photo makes this look like the best dinner, in the world.

    I made a similar dish and I am wondering if the recipe is the same. It also need more flavor and I also added more soy sauce. It was fine, though.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

