CEiMB: Five Layer Mexican Dip

Whoo, I almost didn’t get this one made in time for CEiMB Thursdays. I literally just finished putting it all together and taste testing it! I am a big fan of chips and dip of most any kind so I was really looking forward to this one, but for some reason I was hesitant about making it. Well, actually, I can pinpoint exactly why I was hesitant. First, there is a pretty lengthy ingredient list which always triggers anxiety for me. I assume if there are lots of ingredients, there will also be lots of steps. And my bigger concerns were the cilantro and tomatoes.

Since I was making this last minute and for only myself, I made quite a few substitutions and modifications which I’ll list below. Even with my changes, I think I was true to the original recipe. This was so good! I wouldn’t change anything and could definitely see serving this to guests for parties and whatnot. I think it would be a great summery, picnic dish. I ate mine cold, but I can see it still being good at room temperature as well so I wouldn’t worry about it sitting out which is always hard to stay on top of when you’re the hostess. Thanks to Heather at Mama Cooks for such a great pick!

The best part? I got to use up some of the cubes of frozen chipotle peppers I made a while back! So much easier than trying to chop one up. It worked great. If you haven’t tried this before, I highly recommend it. I put the whole can of chipotles and sauce in the mini food processor and blended until smooth. Then I put 1-2 teaspoons in ice cube trays (mine are shaped like flowers lol). I put them in the freezer, and once they hardened, I popped the chipotle cubes out into a zip top bag. Now they’re ready to go any time I need them, just like those little cubes of fresh herbs I’ve seen at Trader Joe’s.

Also, The Not So Skinny Kitchen is now on Facebook. So if you’re on Facebook, feel free to become a fan :) Also, if you have a page set up for your blog, let me know because I want to fan you as well! And let me know what kind of content, other than the blog links, you might like to see.

Five Layer Mexican Dip

1 can fat free refried beans
1 tablespoon minced onion
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon minced chipotle pepper in adobo
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1 cup corn kernels
1 ripe avocado, mashed
1/2 cup salsa
1/3 cup shredded extra-sharp Cheddar

Place beans in a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl or 4 by 4 glass baking dish. Heat for about 1 minute, just enough to make the beans easier to work with. Add onion, garlic, chipotle pepper, lime juice, and cumin. Once well combined, spread the bean mixture evenly in the bottom of the dish. Top with the corn, spreading it out to form a single layer over the beans, repeat with the avocado, then the salsa. Top with cheese. Serve with baked chips.

Source: “Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger”, episode “Happy Hour”

January 21, 2010. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Elina replied:

    Looks gorgeous! I’m skipping all Ellie meals for the next few weeks due to my remodel, but this one I think I would have anxiety over too… mostly because it’s not really dinner but rather an appetizer for a party and I don’t really have parties on Thursdays. Hehe
    Good job for making substitutions to your liking and not letting it overwhelm you. Sounds like a recipe to save for my next party :)

  2. Kayte replied:

    This looks great…I like how you featured it with the chip in your hand, very nice shot. We loved this, too. So good. The chip was just an excuse to eat the dip! You are absolutely right, this used a fair amount of dishes and had a fair number of steps…good thing I felt like messing around when I made this. I like playing with all the colors.

  3. teresa replied:

    i loved this dish too. the heat and all of the flavors were so good, a great party dish! great idea with the peppers in the ice tray!

  4. Rachel in NC replied:

    Great picture, Liz! I am going to skip this week – I know I’m the only one who will eat this one, and I certainly don’t need a whole pan of dip to tempt me over the weekend.

    I think your idea for the chipotle peppers is brilliant!

  5. Rachel in NC replied:

    Here is my Facebook fan page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachel-Hearts-Food/316832839688

    You inspired me to make one!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

