Asian Chicken


Since this is my third Asian-influenced recipe in as many weeks, I guess it’s safe to say I’m on an Asian kick. I realized that this is the only cuisine for which we always have every ingredient on hand. Fish sauce? Got it; it’s right next to the oyster sauce, hoisin sauce, and chili garlic sauce. We’ve also got soy sauce, sesame oil, bottled ginger, black bean sauce, and just about any other ingredient I’ve ever come across in a recipe. I cannot say the same for any other type of recipe. Definitely a trend we’ve got going here.

And so it seems to make sense that if I had some chicken defrosting in the fridge, and didn’t know what to do with it, I would scour my saved recipes for something Asian inspired, right? Well, that is exactly what I did the night I came across this recipe from For the love of cooking. I’m going to keep this short and simple: you need to go make this right now. Even if your pantry is not as stocked as mine in this area, you will probably have all these ingredients on hand. It comes together incredibly quickly and tastes amazing. It was a perfect weeknight meal. It was so perfect, in fact, that I promised Ryan he could take the leftover piece for his lunch, but I ate it before he had a chance. I guess I’ll just have to make it again soon so he can actually have some this time :)

As for the cooking method, I broiled mine. We live in an apartment so our only grill is a very large indoor/outdoor electric grill. As much as I love it, it’s a pain to clean in our little sink, so I opted for easy clean up and used the broiler. If you are planning to broil yours, let me pass on a little tip that I learned from Ted Allen. He recommends leaving the the oven door open slightly while broiling. Closing the door will cause the meat to heat unevenly since the hot air is trapped inside the oven which creates a weird combination of baking and broiling. Not good. Now that I’ve started adhering to this practice, I am a firm believer. Try it while it’s still chilly outside; see if you agree.

Asian Chicken

2/3 cup of low sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup of dark sesame oil
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp hot chili sauce
1 tbsp minced peeled fresh ginger
4 cloves of garlic, crushed
1/4 small onion, diced
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Combine the first 8 ingredients in a plastic storage container with a lid, then add the chicken breasts. Seal and marinate in the refrigerator for 8-24 hours.

Coat a broiler pan with cooking spray before adding the chicken. Place in the broiler for about 10 minutes per side, or until juices run clear. Remove from the broiler, and let stand 5 minutes before slicing.

Bring reserved marinade to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Cut chicken into 1/4 inch thick slices and drizzle with sauce. Enjoy.

Source: For the love of cooking

February 1, 2010. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Elina replied:

    My kitchen is stocked quite well with the same Asian staples. It seems that once you make one recipe, then you have all you need for many more to come. This looks really great! :)

  2. Rachel in NC replied:

    This looks so good!

    I also have a huge stock of Asian ingredients…I’m thinking about making Asian style ribs for our Super Bowl meal.

  3. chayacomfycook replied:

    Guess what I am having for dinner this week? This is one of those recipes that calls my name. Just printed it up.

    I always do well when I visit here.

  4. Alison @ Hospitality Haven replied:

    That sounds really delicious!!! Glad I found your blog.

  5. Sara replied:

    haha, you just totally described my pantry and fridge too. Pam has some great recipes, so I am sure this was great.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

