CEiMB: Crab Cakes


This week’s CEiMB recipe is Curried Chicken Salad, selected by Sarah of Sarah’s Kitchen Adventures. Why then am I posting about crab cakes, you might be asking yourself. Well, honestly, it’s because I’ve tried several “salads” as part of CEiMB. I have always tried to be a good sport, only opting out of a few recipes based on being afraid of the ingredients, and despite my hatred of mayonnaise, I have given it a fair chance. Sadly, every time I have tried one of Ellie’s creamy salads, I just don’t like it, and Ryan gives me this pitiful look that says, “Please don’t feed me this ever again”. I was actually quite intrigued by the curry component of this one but don’t think Ryan would appreciate another test. I am still quite curious to see how it turns out for all the other CEiMB members; the recipe got very good reviews on Food Network so maybe I will give it a try for lunch one day.

Over the holidays, due to the same chaos everyone else was dealing with, there were a few recipes I missed that I wanted to revisit, so I decided to use this week as an opportunity to do a CEiMB rewind. Back in December, Lauryn at Bella Baker chose Ellie’s recipe for crab cakes. I highly encourage you to click the link to her post because she wrote this awesome little poem to go along with her post. I think we can all agree that the best compliment to crab cakes is a side of poetry, right?

I have been trying to make this recipe for weeks now, but it seems like something always gets in the way. Such is life, I suppose. This past weekend, I finally “forced” myself to make them. I think I had been putting it off because I was under the impression I would be spending a lot of time in the kitchen; I just had it in my mind that crab cakes would be hard to make. Nope. Not at all. I was pleasantly surprised how easy these were to make. (Ryan would like me to point out that he did the “nasty” part of forming the cakes and dipping them in the breading. He loves that every gross thing that needs done in the kitchen becomes “his job”!) The most challenging part of making these was keeping the previously mentioned mischievous cat away from the crab. After about ten minutes of assembling everything, we popped them in the oven for 20 minutes. To me, that is quite quick.

Once I slid these into the oven, Ryan asked me what kind of side we were going to have. I had been planning for us to have mashed potatoes, simply because I thought there was a tub of ready-made ones in the fridge and wanted an easy side for what I had convinced myself was going to be a complicated main dish. A minute later he asked, “Do you know where that would be?” Oops. I’m not sure why I had myself convinced that we had those, but we in fact did not. So we ate a side salad and the crab cakes which was more than filling plus we still had leftovers. Even though the crab cakes are pretty small, they are hearty. We both loved the flavor; I preferred mine with a little lemon juice for a splash more acid, but Ryan thought they were perfect. The best part was how crab-y they were – the flavors didn’t muddle the crab, it all complemented each other very well. Not something we can afford to eat every week, but it was a great treat.

Crab Cakes

1 egg
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon cajun seasoning
a few shakes of hot sauce
1/2 cup finely chopped bell pepper
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1 pound lump crab, meat picked over
3/4 cup dry bread crumbs
a few turns of freshly ground salt and black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Coat a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl mix together the egg, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice, cajun seasoning, and hot sauce. Stir in the bell pepper and onion. Gently fold in the crab, 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs, salt and pepper. Put the remaining bread crumbs in a shallow dish.

Divide the crab mixture into 8 mounds. Shape each mound into a round and coat in bread crumbs. Transfer to the prepared baking sheet and flatten the crab cake to form a patty about 1-inch high. Repeat to form the remaining crab cakes.

Bake until golden on the bottom, about 10 minutes. Gently flip the crab cakes and cook until the second side is golden, 5 to10 minutes longer.

Source: “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” by Ellie Krieger, p.240

February 4, 2010. recipes.

6 Comments

  1. Elina replied:

    I’ve been dying to make her crab cakes as well. Actually bought the crab and it’s been sitting in the fridge since December. Glad you enjoyed this one. I have high hopes. LOVE homemade crab cakes.

  2. teresa replied:

    oh my gosh, i love crab cakes. these look delicious, great job!

  3. Joanne replied:

    The salad was good – a bit too creamy but good. I did like the crab cakes better (if I can remember????). I love crab cakes but will only make them myself because I never trust the restaurants. They usually use WAY TOO much filler and not nearly enough crab.
    If I was Oskar, I would have found a way to get at that crab. :)

  4. teaandscones replied:

    Yes, I have also been wanting to rewind and make these. Glad to hear they are tasty.

    Yours looks perfect!!

  5. Rachel in NC replied:

    I was also hesitant to make the salad but did it anyway – it was very good!

    The crab cakes look awesome, I’ll have to do another CEiMB rewind soon and make them!

  6. Sara replied:

    Yes! So happy you got around to making these and liked them. They are one of my favorite Ellie recipes of all time. I am totally with you on the Ellie creamy mayo salads, not my thing at all.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

