CEiMB: Broccoli and Cheddar-Stuffed Potato Skins with Avocado Cream


Are there any foods you think sound or look delicious but just cannot make yourself like? Or maybe there’s something you hear everyone gush about but it never lives up to your expectations? I think we all have dishes that fall in to this category. For Ryan and me, it’s flank steak. We have this cut of beef a couple different times with less than thrilling results, and neither of us care for blue cheese so when this week’s CEiMB recipe, Marinated Flank Steak with Blue Cheese Sauce, was posted, I didn’t have an enthusiastic reaction. The recipe got rave reviews online, but I just couldn’t think of a way to modify it to our tastes so it’s another CEiMB rewind here.

Now that Ryan enjoys broccoli, I couldn’t think of any reason these potato skins wouldn’t be a hit. Each component sounds great on its own, and everything together just sounds that much better. I did cringe a little at the suggested cook time of 50 minutes, but I was sure it would be worth it. The whole time I was cooking these, in fact, I kept reminding myself that they would be worth it. It’s not that these are hard to make, but there are a lot of steps involved. I made things a little harder on myself by baking the potatoes instead of microwaving them, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Since Ryan wouldn’t be home until late, I prepped the potatoes and avocado sauce in the afternoon, and cooked the broccoli, bacon, and assembled potatoes once he was on his way. By the time he got home, I was kind of over the whole thing. I felt like I had spent the whole day in the kitchen.

Once we sat down to eat, I was so ready to dig in and enjoy the fruits of all my labor. This is when the real disappointment set in. It was like a loud “wa-wa-wa”. Ryan really enjoyed them, but I found them to be very dull. How they could be dull given all the yummy ingredients, I am not sure. The avocado cream was overwhelming, and I think there was too much lime juice in it, making it a little sour for my tastes. I’m sure I could tweak the recipe a bit to better suit my tastes, but I just don’t think the effort was worth it, especially for a weeknight meal.

Broccoli and Cheddar-Stuffed Potato Skins with Avocado Cream

Potato Skins:
2 potatoes, cleaned
1 1/2 cups broccoli florets, coarsely chopped
2 pieces Canadian bacon, finely diced
1 1/2 ounces shredded sharp Cheddar

Avocado Cream:
1 scallion, thinly sliced, greens reserved
1/2 avocado
1 tablespoon reduced-fat sour cream
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1/8 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400. Place potatoes in oven for 75 minutes or until skins are crisp. Let cool until potatoes are easy to handle. Slice potatoes in half lengthwise. Using a spoon, scoop all but 1/8 inch of the inside of the potato, leaving skin intact.

While potatoes are baking, prepare avocado cream. Combine scallion whites, avocado, sour cream, lime juice, garlic and salt in the small bowl of a food processor and process on high until smooth. About 30 seconds. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Once the potatoes are prepped, prepare the filling. Steam the broccoli until crisp-tender, about 3 to 4 minutes. Drain and set aside. Spray a nonstick pan with cooking spray and preheat over medium-high heat. Add the Canadian bacon and cook until crisp stirring often, about 3 to 4 minutes. Reserve.

Toss the broccoli with cheese and spoon filling evenly among potatoes. Return potatoes to oven until cheese is melted, about 5 minutes. Spoon 1 tablespoon of the avocado cream on top of broccoli-filled potatoes, then top with scallion greens and 1 teaspoon crisped bacon bits.

Source: “Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger”, episode “Happy Hour”

February 11, 2010. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Elina replied:

    Uh, really?! So disappointing! Hopefully next week will be AWESOME to make up for it :D

  2. applec replied:

    What a shame the alternate dinner choice didn’t turn out to your liking. If I remember, we enjoyed the skins. But then I probably modified them. I find that I have to do that with almost everyone of Ellies recipes. Maybe I’m making it more fatty or unhealthy in some way but at least we end up liking it.

    As for the steak this week, we like blue cheese so that worked well for us. I didn’t use flank steak but a different cut. Ted loved it. My veggie version was good. The BC sauce was the best (and I snuck in some extra BC crumbles since they were reduced fat :) ).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

