Baked Potato Soup

One of the few things I hate about cooking so many new and different recipes is that it sometimes leads to being wasteful. I try to minimize this as much as possible by buying the smallest quantity of something available, freezing whatever I can (space limited, of course), and trying to come up with ways to use the leftovers. Inevitably there will be some odds and ends that will go unused, but for the most part, I do my best to avoid filling the trash can with remnants of recipes past.

Last week I posted a recipe for potato skins, and after making them, I was left with most of the innards of four potatoes. What is a girl to do with leftover potato parts? Trust me when I tell you, no potato goes to waste here. I promise. I’m not big on homemade mashed potatoes since Simply Potatoes does it so much better than anything I’ve ever made or sampled from home, so I scoured the internet for something a little more interesting. Typically Ryan refuses to eat soups or stews of any kind, but he had a taste of some tortilla soup I had a couple weeks ago which seemed to warm him to the idea of a hearty soup. My hope was that this new found open-mindedness to soup coupled with his love for twice baked potatoes would produce a happy result. And, it did. This was a huge success.

Having the potatoes already baked was a huge help, and while I’m not sure I would have put the effort into baking the potatoes first in order to make soup, it was a great use of the leftover potatoes I did have. This became a great weeknight meal and was very warm and satisfying for a cold night. The only changes I would make in the future would be to cut back on the pepper just a little and to use a sharper cheese for mixing in to get an even cheesier flavor.

Now, on a slightly related note, does anyone have any ideas on what to do with leftover egg yolks? I really only prefer the white and usually end up dumping the yolks. The cartons of egg whites seem weird to me – can anyone attest for them?

Baked Potato Soup

the insides of 4 medium potatoes- about 3 cups, coarsely mashed
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
4 cups fat free milk
3 ounces shredded sharp cheddar cheese, plus some for garnishing
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream
1/2 cup chopped green onions, divided
3 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled
dash of Emeril’s Essence or seasoned salt (optional)

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Place flour in a large Dutch oven; gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk until blended. Cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 8 minutes). Add mashed potatoes, cheese, and seasonings, stirring until cheese melts. Remove from heat.

Stir in sour cream and 1/4 cup onions. Cook over low heat 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated (do not boil). Serve garnished with scallion greens, bacon, and shredded cheese.

Source: Cooking Light

And, Happy Mardi Gras! Irving’s got his beads on, so we’re all ready to celebrate. How ’bout you?

February 16, 2010. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Rachel in NC replied:

    I did the exact same thing after I made the potato skins…potato soup! Yum! Yours looks great.

    If you’re interested in doing some baking, you could use the leftover egg yolks to make challah bread. Let me know if you want the recipe!

  2. amanda @ fake ginger replied:

    What a cutie!!

    I was out of eggs the other day and used meringue powder instead of whites in a cake. Worked perfectly! I like the carton whites too though.

  3. connie b replied:

    YUMMO! The soup looks really good!

  4. Elina replied:

    The soup sounds really good. I’m usually pretty good with reusing leftovers in new ways (or at least dump them in a salad, haha).
    Leftover egg yolks? If they’re fresh, you can use them to bake. Sometimes the recipes call for egg yolks only. I usually freeze mine for this use.I’ve also used the liquid whites before. If they’re 100% egg whites, they taste right. :)

  5. maris replied:

    What a cute pup!! What did he have to do to get those beads? ;) Hehe.

  6. Lauryn replied:

    That soup looks great! I buy the carton of egg whites all the time. Nothing to feel strange about! As for left over yolks, you can freeze them to use for something another time. Ice creams, custards, making baking recipes…

  7. chayacomfycook replied:

    I am a big fan of potatoes and potato soup. Green onions, cheddar cheese and sour cream sounds like perfection.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

