CEiMB: Spiced Chicken and Grape Skewers


A couple weeks ago, Elina from Healthy and Sane and I exchanged emails about her upcoming CEiMB pick. I admitted to her that the idea of grilled grapes scared me a little, and while she assured me that grapes and meat are a good combination, she hoped we all liked the recipe since she was making the rest of us try this one. I can’t speak for any other CEiMBers, but I do find picking the recipe when it’s my turn to be both exciting and daunting; of course no one wants to be responsible for picking the recipe that everyone hates. So, without further suspense, I want to thank Elina for picking an absolutely awesome recipe!

This one came at the perfect time, too. Last Saturday was a beautiful first day of Spring, and it was so fun to pull out the (electric) grill to cook dinner on the deck! We had spent most of the day running around, enjoying the sun and 70 degree temperatures, so by the time I got home, I was very thankful for a quick and easy dinner. Somehow in my hurry, I only ended up marinating the chicken on one side which left me worrying it would turn out bland, but the chicken was so flavorful! I think this moved into my top spot for go-to chicken marinades. Delicious just doesn’t describe it. I’ve been eating the leftovers on salad all week, and I still love it just as much. The only thing I didn’t love was the grapes. Considering I usually prefer them refrigerated instead of at room temperature, you can imagine that warm off the grill wasn’t going over so well. Even if I could have gotten used to the temperature, they also turned mushy on the inside. Ryan liked the flavor of the grapes and chicken together, so I might try room temperature, non-grilled grapes on the side next time, but I won’t grill grapes again.

If you need me this Spring/Summer, I’ll be on my deck, grilling spiced chicken skewers, enjoying a cold beer. What are your plans as temperatures rise and days grow long?

Spiced Chicken and Grape Skewers
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon water
zest of one lemon, about 1 teaspoon
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 3/4-inch cubes
8 (10-inch) skewers
1 1/2 cups seedless green grapes
Cooking spray
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

In a medium sized bowl whisk together the oil, water, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, cumin, coriander, and salt. Add the chicken to the marinade and toss to coat. Marinate the chicken for 20 minutes. While the chicken is marinating, soak the skewers in water if wooden.

Divide pieces of the chicken and grapes evenly and thread onto the skewers, alternating them. Spray a grill pan with cooking spray and preheat over a medium-high heat, or prepare an outdoor grill. Grill the chicken until cooked through, about 3 to 4 minutes per side. Sprinkle with basil and serve.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p. 185
4 servings | 4 POINTS

March 24, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Joanne replied:

    Great job and added plus that you loved it.
    We weren’t fans of this recipe but then I used shrimp – no grapes.
    I think this might be one I use for party food though.

  2. Elina replied:

    Yay, so glad you liked it. At least the marinade made up for the grapes. I liked the grapes but agree that the marinade was especially awesome. I think this is one of my favorite savory Ellie recipes now. I find a lot of them lacking in flavor (the desserts are always spectacular though so I still love her).
    Next week’s pick has also been on my to-make list for ages, so I’m excited. :)
    Happy Thursday!

  3. Brianne replied:

    It looks like yours turned out great! The orzo looks yummy, too! I did the side dish with it, but I substituted Israeli couscous for the lentils. I, too, will be adding this to my go-to list. Have a great weekend!

  4. teaandscones replied:

    Looks really good. Didn’t make cause of family’s tastes. They don’t like grilled fruit. But need to make just the chicken with the marinade. Sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

