Savory Breakfast Muffins


Normally, breakfast and I are not close friends. Days when I know I won’t have a chance to eat for several hours, I force myself to eat something, but if I know I’ll have a break and can put off eating for a couple hours, I will. I just don’t feel hungry in the morning, nothing really sounds good to me, and I am *always* running late to get out the door. When I do have breakfast, I prefer something hearty and savory. Pancakes, French toast, waffles, cereal, and the like are just not for me. I need protein. Ideally, I would have eggs scrambled with onions, peppers, and cheese topped with salsa, but that is not exactly a quick, get-out-the-door-at-7:15am type breakfast (for me). Breakfast sandwiches of an egg white, veggie sausage and cheese on a whole wheat mini bagel are my favorite for weekdays. It’s satisfying and keeps me full for hours. Unfortunately, it can get a little boring after a while, and even it is not as quick and “grab and go” as I would prefer for my early morning lab days. So, when I came across this Eating Well recipe for Savory Breakfast Muffins that can be made ahead of time, frozen, and then reheated individually in a matter of seconds, I had to give it a try.

The recipe garnered mixed reviews on the Eating Well site, but I decided to go for it anyway. (I feel I should mention here that I did not go for it – Ryan actually made this recipe for me because he is, pretty much, the best boyfriend ever. I just picked the recipe, he did all the work!) I mean, cheese, Canadian bacon, scallions, bell pepper–how could it go wrong? Well, even though I would normally say don’t let the reviews scare you off because everyone has different preferences, I am going to have to side with the reviewers on this one: these muffins are super bland. I didn’t taste ANYTHING other than muffin. Like, wheat, dense muffin. They weren’t inedible, but it’s not something I’ll be making again after I finish off this batch, at least not as the recipe is written now. Ryan couldn’t even finish his one because he just thought they tasted like nothing. I would definitely prefer that they taste more like cheese, Canadian bacon, scallion, and bell pepper, but I don’t mind eating something that tastes like a wheat muffin. I like that they’re dense because it makes them filling, and they definitely stick around a while. If I did make these again, I would use turkey bacon or bacon pieces instead of the Canadian bacon; I would make sure to use a very sharp cheese; and I would add some spices to it – maybe a little nutmeg and/or cayenne. I’m not sure exactly, but I do think this base recipe could be played with and doctored up to be improved. I still love the IDEA of these muffins, even if I am not crazy about how they turned out this time.

Savory Breakfast Muffins

2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 1/3 cups buttermilk
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup thinly sliced scallions
3 ounces diced Canadian bacon
1/2 cup grated Cheddar cheese
1/2 cup finely diced green bell pepper

Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat 12 muffin cups with cooking spray.

Combine whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, pepper and salt in a large bowl.

Whisk eggs, buttermilk, oil and butter in a medium bowl. Fold in scallions, bacon, cheese and bell pepper. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients and mix with a rubber spatula until just moistened. Scoop the batter into the prepared pan (the cups will be very full).

Bake the muffins until the tops are golden brown, 20 to 22 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Loosen the edges and turn the muffins out onto a wire rack to cool slightly before serving.

Make Ahead Tip: Individually wrap in plastic and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 month. To reheat, remove plastic, wrap in a paper towel and microwave on High for 30 to 60 seconds.

Source: Eating Well
12 servings | 4 POINTS

April 4, 2010. recipes.

One Comment

  1. Karen replied:

    Try gruyere cheese, and play with the flour ratio. 2:1 whole wheat to white flour is very heavy on the wheat. You could use less wheat (1:1 is standard) or try using 1 cup corn or another whole grain in place of a cup of wheat. Or try the whole wheat flour that is formulated for baking that is much lighter. Jalepenos in place of bell pepper would be great for me, since I love spicy even first thing in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

