CEiMB: Garlic Basil Shrimp


Those of you in CEiMB are probably looking at the title of this post and wondering if you entered a time warp or perhaps you’re experiencing de ja vu. You see, the rest of the group is making Grilled Zucchini Roll-Ups with Herbs and Cheese. I, on the other hand, have fallen behind on my CEiMB recipes, so this week I am posting Garlic Basil Shrimp which everyone else made last week. I’m hoping to be caught up next week!

I was talking to my mom on the phone right around the time I needed to start dinner, so she asked what I was making. As soon as I told her the name, she said, “Be sure to pass on the recipe!” It’s just one of those recipes that sounds delicious, right? Garlic, basil, and shrimp – three of my favorite ingredients. Add in some crushed red pepper flakes, white wine, and tomatoes and we’re definitely headed toward yummy.

From the time I hung up the phone to the time Ryan and I started chowing down was mere minutes. This recipe is quick to prepare and delicious. I wish my shrimp had browned more – I was definitely crowding the pan, so they sort of boiled – but otherwise, no complaints. I subbed a jar of tomatoes from grandma’s garden for the fresh cherry tomatoes the recipe called for so my version turned out a bit more “saucy” than Ellie’s, but I liked it that way just fine. We served ours with just a bit of orzo, more fresh basil, and freshly grated parmesan cheese. Quick, easy, and tasty – quite a success!

Garlic Basil Shrimp

4 tsp olive oil
1 1/4 pound shrimp
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
3/4 cup white wine
1/4 cup basil, chopped
2 cups canned tomatoes, drained

Heat the oil in a large heavy skillet over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then saute shrimp, turning over once, until just cooked through, about 2 minutes. Transfer with a slotted spoon to a large bowl.

Add garlic and red pepper flakes to the oil remaining in skillet and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds. Add wine and cook over high heat, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes. Stir in basil and tomatoes and season the sauce with salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste. Return the shrimp to pan and cook just until heated through.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p.151
4 servings | 5 POINTS

April 15, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Brianne replied:

    Your shrimp looks great! I hope you have better success with the zucchini roll-ups than I did. My husband loved it, as did his coworkers, but for some reason I just couldn’t enjoy them. I do recommend serving them at room temperature; I’m noticing that this seems to be the consensus. Chilled zucchini=not the best. Have a great weekend!

  2. Joanne replied:

    You did a great job on the shrimp. I love shrimp and it never seems to disappoint me.

    Good luck on your zucchini roll ups. I’m sure they will be a hit at the picnic.

  3. Kayte replied:

    Your shrimp looks so cheerfully bright and delicious. We loved this recipe. I need to get to the zucchini as well, but I made the summer rolls for lunch and those were a hit (I cheated and added a bit more shrimp, what can I say, I feed GUYS around here, one shrimp per roll wasn’t going to cut it!). Great shrimp and Basil dish!

  4. Leslie replied:

    You’re not alone…I’m really behind, too! Your shrimp looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

