Pork Chops with Smothered Parmesan Green Beans


Last week, I took a couple pork chops out of the freezer, but I really didn’t know what to do with them. It’s very rare that this happens – I usually have a weekly menu planned, but I have been trying to use up more of what we have in the freezer and pantry which has led to quite a bit of last minute dinner planning. Since I bookmark yummy-looking recipes using delicious as I go through my Google Reader, I decided to hit up my “pork” label to see what sounded good. There were several top contenders, but ultimately this recipe from Gourmet that Amanda at Fake Ginger posted a while back stood out from the pack.

I have been trying to cut back my carb intake – not in a low-carb diet type way, just trying to focus more on vegetables. During menu planning, my meals are typically set up with a protein, a starchy side like pasta or rice, and a vegetable. Since Ryan hasn’t always been big on veggies, I tend to stick with steamable bags from the freezer aisle to keep things easy for myself. I like these just fine, but they get boring. I realized that I was just getting tired of them, thus not making them regularly. Now that spring is here and fresh vegetables are plentiful, I want to make a conscious effort to eat more veggies than carbs. I think if I put a little more effort into them, I will enjoy them more and might even be able to get Ryan to like them as well! So, I’m not planning to nix pasta or rice completely, but I do want to find ways to shake things up a bit because even carbs can get boring when you’re eating the same couple variations regularly.

I modified the recipe a bit to fit what I already had on-hand and to lighten it slightly, but it came together really well. I wasn’t a huge fan of the pork chop itself – I think it needed a little more flavor on its own (Annie’s barbecue sauce to the rescue!) though it was good with a big bite of green beans. Already one of my preferred vegetables, this has definitely become my favorite way to eat green beans. Ryan wasn’t as thrilled with the beans; he said he could taste the onion too much which wouldn’t have been an issue had I used a shallot as directed in the recipe. Maybe I’ll try to pick up a shallot for next time, or maybe I’ll make them the same way and eat them all myself :)

Pork Chops with Smothered Parmesan Green Beans
1 Tbsp light butter
4 tsp olive oil, divided
1 small onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup white wine
1/3 cup fat-free skim milk
1 tsp all-purpose flour
1/4 cup water plus 1 tbsp water
12 oz frozen cut green beans
2 lean boneless pork chops
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Heat butter and 2 teaspoons olive oil in a 12 inch heavy skillet over medium heat until foam subsides. Cook onion and garlic with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper, stirring occassionally until golden, about 5 minutes. Add wine and boil until reduced by half. Add milk, flour, 1/4 cup water, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/8 teaspoon pepper and bring just to a boil. Add green beans and simmer tightly covered stirring occassionally until beans are tender and liquid is slightly thickened, 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer to bowl and keep warm.

Clean skillet, then heat remanining 2 teaspoons oil in skillet over medium-high heat until it shimmers. Pat pork dry and season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper, then cook, turning once, until lightly browned and just cooked through, about 4 minutes per side. Transfer pork to a plate.

Pour off any remaining oil in skillet. Return skillet to medium-high heat and add remaining tablespoon water, stirring and scraping up brown bits. Stir in bean mixture and meat juices from plate and heat over medium heat. Stir in parmesan.

Serve pork over green beans.

Source: Gourmet, as seen on Fake Ginger
2 servings | 10 POINTS

April 20, 2010. recipes.

One Comment

  1. Kristan @ The Stepford Wife replied:

    Yum! This looks really good!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

