Salmon with Sweet Chili Glaze, Sugar Snap Peas, and Pea Tendrils


About a month or so ago, I discovered a new (to me) blog, Love and Olive Oil. Honestly, I can’t even remember what led me there because I have this awful habit of getting online to look at one thing and somehow end up hundreds of clicks away and a couple hours later. Does anyone else have this problem? I’ve thought about installing one of those Firefox extensions that would limit how long I can be online or what sites I can visit during certain times, but what fun would that be? :) Even though I can’t remember how I got there, I am so glad that I did.

Prior to this recipe, I had never even heard of pea tendrils let alone tasted or cooked them. In fact, I’m not much of a pea fan. But the picture accompanying this recipe sold me, and when I saw pea tendril’s at Trader Joe’s a couple weeks after first seeing this post, I knew it was fate. Now, I was super excited about trying this recipe, but I wondered how Ryan would take to it. Salmon he’s OK with, but if I served it alongside something green instead of a big pile of rice, would he still be as happy? Indeed, he was. In fact, I would venture to say that this once upon a time green-food-hater has turned a corner. He’s a veggie convert, and I honestly think he liked this dish – especially the peas! – better than I did!! How weird is that?? Personally, I thought everything had a fantastic flavor, but I preferred the leftover snap peas the next day, when they were a little less crisp after being microwaved.

Salmon with Sweet Chili Glaze, Sugar Snap Peas, and Pea Tendrils
For the marinade:
1 1/2 Tbsp chili sauce + 1 tsp brown sugar (or you can use sweet chili sauce)
2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 tsp ginger root, grated
2- 6oz Atlantic salmon fillets

For the peas:
4 tsp canola oil
1 Tbsp ginger root, grated
3 garlic cloves, minced
8 oz sugar snap peas
1 Tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 1/2 Tbsp rice wine
6 oz pea tendrils
1 tsp dark sesame oil

Line rimmed baking sheet with foil. Coat with nonstick spray. Whisk together marinade ingredients in small bowl. Place salmon fillets, skin side down, on prepared sheet. Spoon chili sauce marinade over and let stand at room temperature 30 minutes.

Preheat broiler. Spoon any marinade remaining on baking sheet over salmon fillets. Broil salmon without turning until browned in spots and almost opaque in center, 6 to 10 minutes, depending on thickness of fillet.

Meanwhile, heat vegetable oil in wok or heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Add ginger and minced garlic; stir until aromatic, about 30 seconds. Add sugar snap peas and stir until crisp-tender, about 2 minutes. Add soy sauce, rice wine, and pea tendrils and stir just until wilted, about 1 minute. Drizzle with sesame oil.

Source: Bon Appetit by way of Love and Olive Oil
2 servings | 11 POINTS

April 27, 2010. Love and Olive Oil.

3 Comments

  1. amanda @ fake ginger replied:

    Love & Olive Oil was one of the first blogs I ever read. Amazing stuff over there. :)

    The salmon looks so good! I don’t even like salmon much but I’m thinking about heading to the store to pick some up now. I doubt I can find pea tendrils around here though.

  2. Lele replied:

    I basically live for sugar snap peas. Now I can’t wait to try pea tendrils, too!

  3. chayacomfycook replied:

    I mkae a new salmon recipe, each week and I think this is a great contender for one, really soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

