CEiMB: Southwestern Hash


Happy Thursday! You know what’s great about today? Most people will tell you Thursdays are great because they are only one day away from Friday, but I don’t want to wish today away. Instead, let’s enjoy the fact that today is time for another CEiMB post! Now, let me ask, are you smiling? If not, scroll back up there and take a look at that Sriracha smiley face. How can you resist that??

Melissa over at It’s Melissa’s Kitchen chose this week’s recipe, Southwestern Hash, and I was so excited to try it out. Hash isn’t something I’ve had before, but it’s hard to find fault in savory, spicy, potato-y breakfast foods. I had to make a few modifications based on what I could find at my store (the potatoes looked nasty so I went with a bag of Simply Potatoes diced potatoes) and personal preference (opted for canned tomatoes over fresh since I’m a weirdo that loves tomato in all forms except fresh), and I also decided to “fry” my potatoes alongside the onion and bell pepper because I was hoping for a bit of a crispy potato. Finally, I opted to top the hash with a microwaved, “scrambled” egg whites (though some yolk slipped through into Ryan’s portion pictured above – oops!) because I detest egg yolks.

The thing I was most looking forward to was the southwestern flare and a good dose of hot sauce first thing in the morning. Honestly, I felt like this one fell a little flat. It was good, but it could have used a little something extra – an extra punch of flavor to wake my taste buds up would have been perfect. I enjoyed it (and the leftovers were even better), but I don’t think it’s something I would make again.

Southwestern Hash

4 tsp olive oil
4 cups diced potatoes
1 medium onion, chopped
1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp chili powder
14 oz canned diced tomatoes
14 oz canned black beans
4 egg whites

Add the oil to a large nonstick skillet and heat over a medium-high heat. Add the potatoes, onions and peppers and cook until vegetables have softened and potatoes are light browned, about 10 minutes. Stir in the garlic, cumin, oregano, and chili powder. Add the tomatoes and beans and simmer for 5 minutes or until heated through. Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer the hash onto serving plates. With the heat off, wipe out the pan. Spray it with cooking spray, turn heat on to medium-low and cook the eggs. Put an egg white on top of each mound of hash. Serve with hot sauce.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life,” p. 30
4 servings | 6 POINTS

April 29, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Joanne replied:

    Never heard of that hot sauce. I’ll have to try it – love hot and spicy! The smiley says it all. LOL

    You know the one draw back to this dish was that the potatoes weren’t crispy on the outside which I told Ted when we were eating it. Lucky you – you thought about that before you cooked it.

  2. teaandscones replied:

    That is the ‘hottest smile’ I have seen all day. LOL

    too bad it wasn’t for you. Maybe add some mixed spice to the veggie/potato would umph up the flavor for you.

    It’s a keeper here.

  3. Kayte replied:

    How cute is that little smiley face…just perk up at the sight of it! I haven’t made this yet as I was thinking I am NOT a fan of oozy eggs at all, so wasn’t sure what to do. I might just mix some scrambled eggs in there instead of the oozy eggs. Yep, might have to do that soon. Yours looks great…hot sauce, okay, now we’re talking!

  4. valen replied:

    Cute Smiley face, that isn’t something commonly seen on blogs!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

