Honey Ginger Pork Tenderloin


Hopefully, as you are reading this, I am sitting on the beach, enjoying the start of my vacation. As it is right now, it’s still midweek, and I’m sick. Ick. It seems like every time I plan to go away, the week leading up to vacation is chaos. Being sick is just the cherry on top this time. Having the beach to look forward to makes it all seem not so bad though. It’s nice to have something to look forward to, don’t you think? With that in mind, this recipe is a two-parter so that you my lovely blog reader will also have something to look forward to! I can’t promise you the beach, but I can let you in on a little secret – the next post reuses the leftovers from this recipe a la Robin Miller. So be sure to check back on Tuesday :)

I like pork. Not enough to get tattoos of pigs or anything like that, though I do know of several famous chefs who adore pork just that much. I like that it is versatile and lends itself well to all different flavors and cuisines. It’s a nice variation from our standard chicken, and as you know, it’s the other white meat. Even though there is a bottle of marinade that I absolutely go gaga over, I am trying to make more marinades and sauces at home as to avoid those sneaky ingredients like high fructose corn syrup and excess sodium. This seemed like a good place to start.

I already had all of the marinade ingredients in my pantry which is always a big plus when looking for new recipes to try out, and even though I wouldn’t have thought to put all those flavors together, it sounded pretty good. After I mixed everything together, I was a little nervous because the oyster sauce had an overpowering smell. The thought of fishy pork did not appeal to me, and I started to worry I had made a mistake. Luckily, I was wrong. Once I got rid of the reserved marinade, the fishy smell was gone, and my pork tasted great. The ginger stood out the most but still had a mellow flavor that didn’t overwhelm but managed to stay away from being bland as well.

Honey Ginger Pork Tenderloin

¼ cup honey
¼ cup soy sauce
¼ cup oyster sauce
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
4 teaspoons minced peeled fresh gingerroot
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon ketchup
¼ teaspoon onion powder
¼ teaspoon cayenne
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
two ¾-pound pork tenderloins, trimmed of silver skin

1. In a small bowl, whisk together all of the ingredients except the pork. Add the pork and the marinade to a gallon-size zipper-top bag and refrigerate for at least 8 hours or up to 1 day.

2. Preheat your broiler. Remove the pork from the marinade, reserving the marinade.

3. Broil the pork, basting with the reserved marinade, for about 12 minutes, turning a quarter turn every 3 minutes. Discard marinade. Continue to cook pork, turning every minute or so, until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the tenderloin measures 145 degrees or the meat is slightly pink at the center. Let the pork rest 5 minutes before slicing.

Source: As seen on The Way the Cookie Crumbles
6 servings | 4 POINTS

May 15, 2010. recipes, The Way the Cookie Crumbles.

One Comment

  1. Elina replied:

    This sounds amazingly fantastic. I realized I like pork last year when I tried pork tenderloin. It’s so lean and tender. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

