Baked Scallops

I should actually be posting this week’s CEiMB recipe since it is Thursday, but I’m having a bit of a health issue lately that has landed me on bed rest for a few days. I hope to be back soon with what looks like a delicious salmon recipe, but in the meantime, I’ve got a few other recipes that I made before I was ill to share with you.

A couple weeks ago, while I was in IL for my cousin’s wedding, I had scallops at a Japanese restaurant, and they were so delicious that I’ve been craving them ever since. Scallops aren’t something I eat regularly because it seems I am the only one around here that enjoys them. Bummer. This past weekend, however, I was alone for dinner and decided to treat myself. I modified this recipe from one I found online, but I have to admit that in retrospect, I wish I had just seared the scallops. The bread crumb topping with butter and garlic was delicious, don’t get me wrong, but it was a little rich for me and detracted from the taste of the scallops which is what I was really craving. So if you’re looking for a decadent dish reminiscent of scampi, this is perfect. I had this with a big bowl of Ellie Krieger’s collard greens, which was a perfect meal for one.

Baked Scallops

1/2 lb sea scallops (you could also use the smaller, bay scallops)
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 cup whole wheat Panko bread crumbs
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp paprika
1 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400.

Pour melted butter into a small casserole dish. Distribute butter and scallops evenly inside the dish.

Combine the bread crumbs, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, minced garlic and parmesan cheese. Sprinkle this mixture over the scallops.

Bake in pre-heated oven until scallops are firm, about 20 minutes.

2 servings | 8 POINTS

June 17, 2010. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    Stealing this one…thank you. I hope you are better soon, no fun to think of you down for the count. Great photo of this by the way.

  2. April in CT replied:

    I have the same scallop situation here, I like them and the picky half doesn’t so I’ve never tried cooking any.

    Hope you’re feeling better quickly!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

