Sangria

Blog friends, I have to tell you, I really miss my kitchen. For the past three weeks or so, I have not been up to cooking and instead have been subsisting on take out, delivery, and whatever else can be prepared quickly and easily. Luckily there were a few healthy staples in the freezer – Dr. Praeger’s veggie burgers (which are amazing!) and homemade chimichangas are the first things that come to mind. And I did manage to cook a few things – the scallops, collard greens, and casserole I previously posted about. But for the most part, my kitchen has been quiet.

Maybe your kitchen is also feeling unloved this time of year as you’ve moved your cooking and eating outdoors. Isn’t that what summers are for – grilling and dining al fresco? Next time you’re standing over the grill, feeling a little parched, be sure to have this on hand for a cool, refreshing cocktail. I actually made this back in February, which I was told by my local Trader Joe’s wine professional was a very unseasonable time to be serving Sangria, so I’m looking forward to sampling this recipe again soon, especially after a recent stint at the hospital noshing on ice chips. We all know that nothing goes better with ice than a cocktail, right?

Sangria

1 1/2 liters red table wine
1 cup grenadine
2 cups cranberry juice cocktail
1 1/4 cups sweet vermouth
sugar water (1/2 cup sugar dissolved into 1/2 cup water)
strawberries, cut into thirds
orange, sliced thin, then quartered
crushed ice

This recipe makes about a gallon. Mix all the ingredients, except for ice. I reused a gallon jug, but this would probably work better in a container with a wider mouth. Let sit in refrigerator at least 4-5 hours, if not overnight. Pour sangria into serving glass, fruit and all, then add ice. Garnish with fresh fruit.

Adapted from Olive Garden’s Sangria, as found on recipezaar

June 27, 2010. recipes.

One Comment

  1. April in CT replied:

    I hope you’re back to 100% soon!

    That is a beautiful cocktail!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

