CEiMB: Penne with Roasted Tomatoes, Garlic, and White Beans


I am so excited to be cooking along with the CEiMB group again after missing a couple weeks of yummy recipes! I will definitely be making the dishes I missed once I’m back to cooking regularly because they both sound delicious and got good reviews. As much as I love participating, I almost sat out again this week because I wasn’t sure I was quite feeling up to cooking, and as I’ve mentioned before, I’m not the biggest fan of fresh tomatoes. After not cooking for so long, I was really missing it and decided to give this one a shot, and I am so glad I did.

While I was cutting up the tomatoes, I decided to sprinkle a little salt and pepper on a piece and try eating it plain. Guess what. I actually didn’t hate it. I guess continuing to try them every now and then has started to train my palate to tolerate new things. I don’t think I’ll be going on any tomato binges any time soon, but at least this has opened up some doors in regards to which recipes I will try in the future.

I absolutely loved the flavor of the roasted tomatoes, especially with the garlic and olive oil. Even though I didn’t like turning my oven to such a high temperature for so long – talk about a hot kitchen! – my apartment smelled heavenly. I served the pasta with a grilled chicken breast that had been marinating in a balsamic marinade, and the combination was perfection. This would definitely serve as a fantastic meatless dish, but the balsamic on the chicken made for a lovely pair. My only complaint about this recipe was the number of steps involved. Nothing was too complicated, but there was a lot to do between roasting the tomatoes, making the sauce, and prepping the pasta. I’ll definitely be making this again but will be sure I’m not sleep-deprived next time.

Penne with Roasted Tomatoes, Garlic, and White Beans

2 lbs vine-ripened tomatoes
6 cloves garlic
3 tbsp olive oil
15 oz Cannellini beans
8 oz whole wheat penne
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp frozen, chopped basil
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Slice each tomato into bite size pieces and discard the seeds. Put the tomato wedges and garlic into a 9 by 13-inch roasting pan. Drizzle with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sprinkle with salt and a few turns of pepper. Roast in the oven, uncovered, for 35-40 minutes or until they lose their shape and become slightly charred.

Drain the beans into a large colander in the sink. Cook the pasta according to the directions on the package. Drain the pasta into the colander containing the beans, so the hot pasta water will warm the beans. Return drained pasta and beans to the pasta pot.

When the tomatoes are done, pick out the garlic cloves, squeeze the garlic out of the skin into a small bowl and mash with a fork. Add the lemon juice, the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil, the basil and additional salt and pepper, to taste. Transfer the roasted tomatoes to the pasta pot, add the garlic-lemon mixture, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Toss to combine. Serve topped with the Parmesan.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 157
4 servings | 9 POINTS

July 1, 2010. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Liz replied:

    I loved the way the whole house smelled while the garlic and tomatoes were roasting too!

  2. Bri replied:

    I absolutely agree with you about tomatoes! I, too, have been trying to train my palate to tolerate them more. I love the flavor of tomatoes (love tomato sauce, etc.) but could never get over the texture. But I’m finding that by roasting them or bursting them in a hot skillet on the stovetop, I’m really starting to love them! I think it brings out that great flavor while also making the texture more manageable.

    I’m so glad you decided not to sit this one out and cook along with me! I’m really looking forward to your pick next week.

  3. Kayte replied:

    Yahoo for new things! Your photo is so great, makes everything look delicious, as I am sure it was. I was thinking this was such a nice summer dish with the light dressing on it, no heavy sauce, etc., until I remembered how hot that oven was and thought, oh well, maybe this is a nice winter dish!

  4. Joanne replied:

    We really enjoyed the recipe. You know, I’m not a huge fan of tomatoes but find I enjoy the little grape tomatoes more than the honking big ones. The plus side of that is that the smaller tomatoes have just a tad more nutritional benefit (Lycopene) because it is more concentrated in the smaller tom.

  5. pamela replied:

    Your picture of the dish looks so yummy! We liked it and served it as a side dish, too.

  6. Danica replied:

    I am glad you are feeling a bit better too! I LOVED how the house smelled too. I’d maybe make it again but I’d definitely like quadruple the tomatoes/sauce and maybe add some fresh mozzarella balls plus chicken versus beans. Does that still count as the same?! LOL.

  7. Sarah replied:

    That looks amazing!! I’m so gonna try that (minus the Parmesan since I’m vegan). Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

