Welcome!

Welcome to The Not So Skinny Kitchen’s new home!

I am so happy to finally have my own little corner of the web. It’s been a bit of an adjustment, and I’ve been working on a lot of behind the scenes stuff here. You probably would not believe how hard it has been to get the new site to look like my old, wordpress site! Eventually I would like to have my site redesigned, and there are still many things I plan to work on over the next few weeks. For now it’s a work in progress, but I was just too excited to share it with you all to keep it to myself any longer!

Since I want you guys to be just as excited about my move as I am, and because I want to thank you all for making this whole blogging thing so fun, I am offering up a giveaway!! One of you will be lucky enough to win this new cookbook, “Fresh Flavor Fast”, from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food:

About the book, from marthastewart.com:
“Everyday Food: Fresh Flavor Fast,” the follow-up cookbook to the best-selling “Everyday Food: Great Food Fast,” features 250 recipes that are delicious, simple to prepare, and filled with flavorful fresh ingredients. Accompanied by beautiful photographs, the recipes focus on quick-cooking, easy-to-assemble dishes that use what’s on hand.

I think it goes without saying that Martha Stewart is pretty fantastic, and the original Everyday Food cookbook, “Great Food Fast“, is the source I most credit with my renewed desire to cook which led me to starting this blog in the first place. With that in mind, it only seems fitting that this new book would be the perfect way to start off my new adventure in blogging.

I am going to offer up several ways to enter so you can increase your chances of winning!

How to enter:

First, leave a comment here telling me which is your favorite cookbook of all time.

Then, for bonus entries, you may do one or more of the following, but be sure to leave a separate comment for EACH one that you complete:

(You can do all six for six extra entries or pick and choose which ones you would like to do. Be sure to post about each one separately, and it counts if you have already added me on facebook or twitter, just be sure to leave a comment letting me know.)

Now for the “rules”:

To be clear, the winner of this giveaway will receive one copy of “Fresh Flavor Fast” from Everyday Food. This giveaway is not sponsored by or related to Martha Stewart or Everyday Food in any way. I am hosting this giveaway as a thank you to all my readers, and as such, I’m providing the prize on my own. This giveaway is open to continental US residents only. I will select a winner, using a random number generator, on Sunday, July 18, 2010 at 11:59PM EST, and I will post the results on Monday, July 19.

EDITED MONDAY, JULY 19, 2010: THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED, AND I HAVE DISABLED COMMENTS. THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO ENTERED!

July 11, 2010. recipes.

46 Comments

  1. Heather replied:

    I tweeted!

  2. Heather replied:

    I like you on facebook.

  3. Heather replied:

    I love to acquire cookbooks. My most used is probably a Better Homes and Gardens baking book.

  4. Joanne replied:

    I would LOVE that book. I have a link to the Martha site on my blog but so rarely make any of her recipes.
    This book would be great for my collection. Please oh please…fingers crossed…. now I have to update your link on my site to your NEW site. Congrats on your “own little corner of the web”. :)

  5. Joanne replied:

    I just “liked” you on facebook and am following on Twitter. What a great little twitter page you have! So cute.

  6. The Rookie Baker replied:

    My favorite cookbook is Southern Living! I’ve found so many recipes in there that I love, a lot of which are surprisingly healthy!

  7. The Rookie Baker replied:

    Also, I “liked” you on Facebook and added you to my blogroll!!

  8. Louanne replied:

    Favorite cookbook of all time is “Who’s Your Mama, Are You Catholic, and Can You Make a Roux?” by Marcelle Bienvenu.

  9. Louanne replied:

    I added you to my blogroll, too.

  10. Alex replied:

    “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman. Because it literally tells you how to cook EVERYTHING. I love it.

  11. April in CT replied:

    Any of my Taste of Home Cookbooks. I inherited them from my Grandmother and I love looking through them!

    Congrats on the new digs!

  12. Margaret replied:

    Let’s see. Favorite cookbook of all time. That’s hard. Savory. Sweet. Reinharts’ Bread Bakers Apprentice. I never knew how much I didn’t know about bread.

  13. Margaret replied:

    I follow on Twitter.

  14. Margaret replied:

    And on Facebook. I like you!!

  15. Margaret replied:

    Tweeted http://twitter.com/Scones4Me/status/18386615692 thus reducing my chance of winning.

  16. Margaret replied:

    Listed my favorite recipe on FaceBook.

  17. Margaret replied:

    Added your site to my blogroll

  18. Amy replied:

    Right now, my favorite cookbook is my Cooking Light: Way to Cook cookbook, but I am still a newbie to the cooking world.

  19. Amy replied:

    I re-tweeted your tweet.

  20. Amy replied:

    I’ve liked you on FB for a while. lol

  21. Amy replied:

    I mentioned your giveaway in my newest blog entry.

  22. Amy replied:

    I’ve followed you on Twitter for a while as well.

  23. Amy replied:

    And lastly, I updated my blog roll with your new link. Whew! :)

  24. Amy replied:

    And I will now go let you know my favorite recipe on FB. lol

  25. Joanne replied:

    I’m back again. This is such a great giveaway, I hope we can enter daily?! :)

  26. Joanne replied:

    I just tweeted the giveaway.

  27. Lisa replied:

    My favorite cookbook is all about casseroles..That changes monthly thought cause I buy so many cooking magazines and cookbooks! haha

  28. Lisa replied:

    I became a fan in FB!

  29. Kayte replied:

    My favorite cookbook of all time is the one my aunt made of all our family recipes going back to the 1800’s. Sorry, limited edition. I cook/bake from it often when I want that connection with family…it’s fabulous.

  30. Rachel in NC replied:

    Liz, this is such an awesome giveaway! Everyday Food is my favorite food magazine & I always rip out at least five recipes from each issue.

    My favorite cookbook is my (signed) copy of Peter Reinhardt’s Artisan Breads Every Day.

  31. Rachel in NC replied:

    And I added you (well, updated) to my blogroll.

  32. Rachel in NC replied:

    And I’m following you & re-tweeted!

  33. Rachel in NC replied:

    And…I like you on FB! whew, I think I’m finished now!

  34. Kayte replied:

    I already follow you on Twitter and not because I wanted the book…I wanted to follow you before that because we cook/bake together! I am hopeless on facebook…I always forget to go and then everyone says “it was on Facebook” and I was supposed to know, etc. from that…think everyone has given up on me, but that’s okay, only so much time in a day.

  35. Joanne replied:

    I’m back – this is such a great giveaway. Just wanted to let you know about the Foodbuzz cause for OCRF. IT’s a great cause and really fun making your banana split. Cool! Details at my site.
    Liz – Does Martha have a recipe in that book for banana splits? Let me know. :)

  36. Kayte replied:

    Just upping my chances of winning the book, that WAS one of the rules, right? LOL. Yep, I’m sure it was. ;-)

  37. Danica replied:

    I LOVE your new site Liz!!! Beautiful!

    Do I have to pick just one cookbook, really?! But, I have so many I LOVE….how do I choose!

    I think I will go with my latest one ~ The Perfect Scoop ~ it’s all about making the Perfect Ice Cream – my new quest :D

  38. Danica replied:

    I already like ya on Facebook :D

  39. Danica replied:

    I already follow you on Twitter, but, I Tweeted, Twitted or Twiterred -whichever you wanna call it :D

  40. Danica replied:

    I never realized I didn’t have you on my blogroll :( Added now though!

    I am making a note to link back tonight if I remember :)

  41. Elina (Healthy and Sane) replied:

    Welcome to your new home! :)
    I don’t know if I have a favorite cookbook. I really love Cooking Light and Eating Well magazines. I think these get used the most. I also have never had a bad recipe from the Cooks Illustrated Light Recipes cookbook. It’s also quite educational as they explain how they modified the original “fattier” recipe to a lighter version. This book sounds great – thanks for the giveaway!

  42. Elina (Healthy and Sane) replied:

    I follow you on twitter (@healthyandsane)

  43. heidi replied:

    tweeted! http://twitter.com/missheidi/status/18877464071

  44. heidi replied:

    followed you on twitter (@missheidi)

  45. heidi replied:

    “like” you on facebook :)

    (seriously glad I came across your blog randomly!!!)

  46. heidi replied:

    favorite cookbook of all time is the fitness kitchen by shelley sinton which i found at a book sale for $2. one of the best cookbooks ever. i’m also a huge huge fan of martha’s Great Food Fast cookbook.

