CEiMB: Warm Tomato and Corn Salad


A few weeks ago, it was my turn to host the CEiMB recipe, and while I was browsing through Ellie Krieger’s cookbooks, trying to choose one of the many delicious-sounding recipes, I bookmarked probably close to a dozen dishes. I finally settled on the Pesto Potato Salad because I thought it work the best for what I knew I had going on that week, but this corn salad was high on my list of possibilities because it just sounded like the perfect summer dish. Is there anything that embodies summer better than fresh corn? For me, there is not. And apparently Danica of Danica’s Daily agrees. Great minds :)

I spent the first third of my life in Illinois, and as anyone who has ever driven through the state can tell you, corn is aplenty during the summer. It is absolutely everywhere you look! One set of my grandparents actually lived up against a huge corn field, and my grandfather on my dad’s side always had an enviable garden. Even as he’s gotten older and stopped gardening, the rest of his neighbors and local farmers are good friends of his and my grandmother’s, and a dinner of only fresh vegetables is not uncommon in their house. I remember one summer, after we moved to Georgia, my brother and I were staying with my grandparents, and all my grandmother served for lunch and dinner several days in a row was corn on the cob. This memory has probably been exaggerated over the years, but I do remember being incredibly sick of corn by the end of that stay. It was literally years before I would even eat corn again, and I’m pretty sure my brother still doesn’t!

Since it was one of the few vegetables Ryan would eat when we first moved in together, I began making it on a more regular basis, and in the past year, I’ve really come to love it again. As with most vegetables, fresh is best! Nothing beats the sweet crunch of corn fresh off the cob. I have to admit though that I am usually pretty lazy when it comes to preparation. Frozen, steam in the bag corn? Always some in the freezer. Boiled or grilled while camping? Yep. Beyond that, I’m clueless. So when it came to jazzing up the corn, I was really excited to try something new.

I’m not sure if I really followed the recipe all that well since the original title was Chicken with Warm Tomato and Corn Salad. I ditched the chicken completely and instead served this warm salad alongside a pork tenderloin I marinated and cooked in Mojo marinade in the slow cooker. I also cut back on the tomatoes (still nervous about raw/only lightly cooked tomatoes) and omitted the cilantro, using a few sprinklings of ground cumin instead. The verdict? Awesome! The corn was nice and crunchy, and even though I’m not sure this would have been flavorful enough for us had we not marinated the meat, it was incredibly tasty. Summer perfection. Thanks again to Danica for such a great pick. Be sure to check out her blog because it is so fun to read, and she is a great blog friend.

As you’re reading this, I am in Illinois visiting family and hope to return with some corn and veggies from my grandma’s garden! Last year she sent me home with canned tomatoes, green beans, homemade pickles, and beets, and this year she has promised to spend a day teaching me how to can! I am very excited, and if possible, I will try to share some canning information with you when I get back. I will have very limited access to the internet while I’m gone, so please bear with me if I don’t respond to comments or posts until next week. Hope you all have a lovely weekend!

Warm Tomato and Corn Salsa

2 teaspoons olive oil
2 scallions, thinly sliced, whites and greens separated
2 cloves garlic, minced
12 ounces vine ripened cherry tomatoes
4 medium ears corn on the cob, cut off the cob
1 medium avocado, diced
1 tablespoon lime juice
salt, pepper, and ground cumin to taste

Add oil to a medium skillet, over medium high heat. Add scallion whites, cooking and stirring for 1 minute. Add the garlic. Cook and stir 30 seconds more. Add the tomatoes and corn to the pan. Cook until softened, about 3 minutes. Stir in the scallion greens and lime juice, and season with salt, pepper, and ground cumin to taste. Serve topped with avocado.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p. 144
4 servings | 4 POINTS

July 22, 2010. recipes.

10 Comments

  1. Joanne replied:

    Corn used to be my favorite vegetable as a kid. But then I would break out in red, itchy spots. Have you ever heard of anyone begin allergic to CORN?!!! What a weirdo kid!
    Thank goodness I can eat it in moderation now (another benefit of getting older) and wouldn’t have passed it up for the world in this delicious warm tomato corn salad.
    We truly thought it was one of Ellie’s best.
    Love your photo Liz. Great job!

  2. April in CT replied:

    Corn is by far my most favorite veggie and this looks so good! I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip and how exciting that you’ll get a canning lesson! My grandparents had a prolific garden every year and a huge regret of mine is not gleaning every ounce of information from my grandmother I could about putting up veggies.

  3. Danica replied:

    Ahhh, I LOVE your presentation with the avocado peel – Liz you are seriously so genius! I am not so sure cilantro – cumin, but, I bet it was an amazing addition :D

    I LOVE your corn story – WOW, I cannot imagine having that much corn available to me…not sure if I could ever get sick of it.

    What a fun weekend you have planned – I can’t wait to hear about canning and what goodies she gives you – seriously, teach us!!!

    Thanks for cooking with me this week :)

  4. Kayte replied:

    Looks so nice…love that in the avocado cup idea. That’s why I come here…to steal your ideas! I haven’t made it yet as I was hoping to get to it before I left for the week, but that didn’t happen, so hopefully it will be one of the first things on my list when I return. I am still up at Purdue University with Matt at the USA Swim Sectionals, so nothing going on in my kitchen all week, because you can bet the other two guys are not there rattling any pots and pans…LOL! Your photos are lovely. I grew up in Iowa, corn country! Indiana is not far behind.

  5. Margaret replied:

    We drove through IL a couple of years ago. Corn. Corn CORN!! Everywhere. It reminded me of an old movie – Day of The Trifids!! Guess you have to be my age to remember that one.

    Anyway, your corn salad looks great. So easy and so good.

  6. Bri replied:

    Loved your post this week! I actually moved to Illinois three years ago, and I currently live right down the street from cornfields! I was fortunate enough to enjoy this Ellie meal with fresh, sweet corn from my husband’s parents’ garden. I now have come to appreciate homegrown produce very much, thanks to living out in the Midwest. I hope you have a great canning lesson; it’s something I’d like to learn, too.

  7. Elina replied:

    I’m going to make it tonight. A little late, I know, but now I can cook with confidence that this is going to be delicious :)

  8. Peggy replied:

    Great post! Yours looks delicious. I didn’t love corn on the cob as a child either, but now we have started grilling it and I can’t get enough of it. Every weekend I have to have my grilled corn! And yes, the heat here is unreal. I can’t remember a summer this hot in years. Have a great weekend and try to stay cool over there!

  9. branny replied:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love your participation in CEiMB. Looks like a fun group. I am sure there are many recipes, like the one you’ve posted here, that I’d enjoy.

  10. Shandy Hanke replied:

    Thank you so much for the warm welcome and great comments. I love the group already because of everyone in the group =).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

