CEiMB: Salmon Florentine


This week’s CEiMB recipe, which is NOT Salmon Florentine, is one that sounds absolutely delicious to me. Mixed Berry Cobbler? Sign me up! I don’t usually go for sweets or desserts, but when I do, I choose fruity options every time. Something warm served a la mode with melty vanilla ice cream on top. Heaven. However, the one of us who does actually eat sweets and desserts does not like berries or any other fruit for that matter. So instead of making an entire cobbler basically for myself (and then eating only one or two servings before dumping the rest in the trash), I opted to do a “rewind” and go back to the salmon recipe that I missed earlier in the summer.

I was really disappointed that I hadn’t been able to make this sooner, especially after it got really good reviews from the rest of the group, so I was happy to have the chance to make it this week. I am huge fan of seafood, and salmon is one my favorite varieties of fish. I usually pick salty, sweet, Asian inspired marinades when I make salmon, but I was looking forward to a departure from my norm. Ellie did not disappoint. I love the combination of spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, and ricotta cheese on top of the sweet, flaky fish. My only complaint was that the ricotta got a little overpowered. I remember someone saying this might be better with goat cheese, and I think I would try that next time. Otherwise this was a great dish; quick and easy.

Be sure to check out the recipe at Cooking with Boys and to read about how Pam and the rest of the CEiMBers enjoyed their cobblers this week! I’m noting the recipe for another time, when I’ll have more people around to help eat it. I know my family would love it so it’s going on the holiday menu I’m already mentally planning.

Now, a photography question to fellow bloggers (or anyone in the know): I was fortunate to get this recipe made during the day which allowed for some lovely natural light. That is quite a luxury for me as I am usually cooking well after the sun has gone down. I love the way the picture turned out; any tips for recreating natural light on a regular basis in a tiny, dark apartment?

Salmon Florentine

10 ounces frozen, chopped spinach
1/2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons onion, finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons sun-dried tomatoes (not packed in oil), julienned
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
2 salmon fillets, 6 ounces each

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Using your hands, squeeze spinach of all excess liquid.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook for 3 minutes until they begin to soften. Add spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and cook an additional 2 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool approximately 10 minutes. Add ricotta and stir to combine.

Using your hands, pack 1/2 of spinach mixture on top of each salmon fillet, forming mixture to the shape of the fillet. Place fillets on a rimmed baking sheet or glass baking dish and bake for 15 minutes, until salmon is cooked through.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week,” p. 197
2 servings | 8 POINTS

August 24, 2010. recipes.

10 Comments

  1. Kelly replied:

    Looking at this I thought, wow that looks amazing. Then I realize I actually have that cookbook. I bet it would be good on other types of fish as well. This is reminding me that I have no good reason not to crack open her books.

    As a sidebar, I’m a finalist in a recipe contest! I’d love your support. To vote, see my video here: http://bit.ly/bXKr5j and then click that you “like it.” (Note that you will have to log into your youtube account to vote and if you don’t have one, you’ll have to create one. I promise it only takes a minute!) If nothing else you get to see me look awkward on video. :-S

  2. Elina replied:

    I don’t even remember this recipe being chosen. How did I miss it? I didn’t make the cobbler this week either. I would just end up eating it myself… or even if my husband joined me, we really don’t need an excuse to eat all this dessert (I eat plenty as is). Hopefully there will be a family/friend gathering soon so I can still make it though. My PILs recently tried the cobbler recipe and LOVED it.
    As to the salmon, it looks phenomenal… I am making a mental note to make it with goat cheese, as you suggest.
    Beautiful pics in a dark apartment? If you find the secret, please share it with me. That’s one thing I hate about our place :(

  3. Joanne replied:

    Great florentine salmon. It looks so good. Save the cobbler for entertaining and WOWING company :)

  4. Bri replied:

    Your salmon looks like it turned out wonderfully! Please do keep the cobbler in mind for when you have company or something; your guests will love it!

    I’m still learning how to photograph food myself, and the pics on my blog are hardly professional quality. The best thing I can say that helps me if I’m photographing after the sun goes down: I just play with the various settings on my camera and keep on snapping pics. I have a food setting on my camera, but I find that after dark, it makes the food look terrible! So I switch to a portrait mode, and that tends to work better.

    Again, I’m not by any means an authority, that’s just what I do.

  5. Leslie replied:

    This looks great! I missed this one, too, so now I definitely have to try it!

  6. R @ Learning As I Chop replied:

    I, for one, would choose the cobbler hands-down. But I am sure this was delicious too

  7. Margaret replied:

    The salmon looks tasty. I remember it was good.

    Please make the cobble when you get a chance. You won’t regret it.

  8. Chaya replied:

    I made a recipe similar to this and it was great. I didn’t have the sun dried tomatoes and I would love to try it with them. Yours looks very tempting.

  9. Shandy Hanke replied:

    LOVE, love, love your salmon! Growing up, I used to never eat spinach. Now I love it!

  10. Kayte replied:

    This looks fabulous. Need to make this again, don’t I? And, just so you know, you can reduce that cobbler to just a fraction of the recipe and bake it in a couple little ramekins, yep you can! It’s very good.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

