Egg Cups

I love a savory breakfast. Cereal is OK every now and then, but given the option of eggs, bacon, and toast over pancakes or waffles, I’m going to pick eggs every time. Omelettes are a favorite of mine, even though I’m not good at making them. Breakfast sandwiches are a staple for me when it comes to the first meal of the day. I’ve also been known to turn to Smart Ones Stuffed Breakfast Sandwiches or Breakfast Quesadillas in a pinch. I am constantly on the lookout for cheesy, eggy, bacony, and QUICK breakfasts that I can eat as I run out the door (at the last possible minute, inevitably). Enter this recipe. Veggie-laden eggs wrapped in ham, and it can be made ahead of time and frozen for later. Sounds perfect.

And it nearly is. I made a few adjustments to the recipe, and I would make a couple more next time, but on the whole, I am in love with this idea. In the original recipe they give two ways of making these, as a mini quiche minus the ham “bowl”, or as an egg cup. I made it both ways, but I have to tell you, the ham was a winner for me. First of all, the quiches stuck to the wrapper (or the pan since I only had three liners), and I just really liked the extra flavor of the ham. In the future I will omit the Canadian bacon in the egg mixture and just use the ham as a liner. The eggs wrapped in ham popped right out of the muffin pan and were easier to freeze. The only other change I’ll make is to add more crushed red pepper next time since I love spice!

At only 1 POINT (and about 50 calories) each, these are a great start to the day!

Egg Cups

1 3/4 cups liquid egg whites
3 ounces reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 ounce parmesan cheese, shredded
1/4 cup reduced-fat ricotta cheese
6 ounces frozen, chopped spinach, defrosted and drained
1/3 cup roasted red peppers, chopped
1 ounce Canadian style bacon or ham, chopped
1/4 cup onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
12 slices honey ham (Look for longer, oval pieces, not the circular ones like I used because they were too small for the muffin pan.)

Preheat oven to 350.

In a bowl, combine all ingredients (except ham slices) and stir well.

Spray muffin tin with non cook spray and place one piece of ham in each well to form a bowl.

Evenly divide egg mixture between the 12 muffin wells (about 1/4 C each), being careful to keep ingredients well dispersed. You want them to fill right up to the top.

Place in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. The tops should be puffed and just barely set on top. Eggs will sink after cooling.

Store them in an airtight container in the fridge, or freeze them. When reheating in the microwave, make sure to take off the foil liner! And if you’re reheating from frozen, I try to take them out the night before so they can thaw in the fridge. Then when you microwave them, set them on a folded paper towel to drain excess moisture.

Source: Our Best Bites
12 servings | 1 POINT

September 1, 2010. recipes.

One Comment

  1. Bri replied:

    I love, love, love this idea!! I’m with you, savory breakfasts are awesome, but I usually associate them with lots of work and a long time spent in the kitchen. The fact that you can make a bunch of these egg cups, and then freeze them, is kinda revolutionary here at my house! I make muffins for the hubs that I freeze and then he takes them for a quick breakfast. I know he’d love the variety of having egg cups to grab, too. Thank you so much, Liz! I’m bookmarking this to try very soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

