Meatless Monday: Eggs in Tomato Sauce


I am typically not a fan of eggs, especially the yolks. I love egg whites scrambled with mixed veggies and cheese or on some sort of breakfast sandwich, but I rarely eat the yolks. My mom accredits this to her love of yolks; she says she trained my brother and me to only like to eat the white part of a hard boiled egg so that we would give her the yellow middle. Now, of course, she’s kidding when she says this, but at least for me, it’s not wrong. I will happily hand off “the yellow” to anyone who wants it. On the rare occasion that I am presented with a whole egg, it cannot be even the least bit runny. Ew. Though I can appreciate a beautifully poached egg as Gordon Ramsay, Graham Elliot, and Joe Bastianich tap the center of a contestant’s egg on “Master Chef”, the idea of eating it does not appeal to me. I wish I could bring myself to try it, but I just cannot.

Why would I choose to make a dish to egg centric given my feelings towards eggs? Well, do a Google image search of eggs in tomato sauce. Go on; I’ll wait. Beautiful, right? It just looks yummy. At least, when I came across Bridget’s post on The Way the Cookie Crumbles, I felt like I would have to overcome my fear of egg yolks because her photos are just that stunning.

Now, I may not have done the dish justice because I could not bring myself to prepare a runny egg. But let me tell you something… I often see this style of recipe also referred to as Eggs in Purgatory. Take a bite of this and you will agree this sauce is about as close to heaven as any tomato will ever get. Seriously. Ryan and I were both commenting on the fact that we could have just eaten the sauce with a spoon, no other ingredients necessary. Neither of us were crazy about the egg – it didn’t seem to add much. Maybe that’s because we were missing out on the creamy yolk, but even the white seemed to get lost and overpowered. The combination of this sauce atop a toasted piece of Asiago sourdough from our local farmer’s market, however, was perfection.

While this dish may not reappear in my kitchen in its current state, if you enjoy eggs and are looking for a super simple yet delicious weeknight meal, look no further. As for me, I’ll be inventing new ways to add tomato sauce to everything.

Now, speaking of tomatoes, I promised you guys a post on canning. I would very much like to write that post for you all because I wholeheartedly think it’s a worthwhile effort. You will never find store-bought canned tomatoes that taste as good as the ones you saved from your own (or you grandma’s) garden. However, I just don’t think I am really qualified to write that post. Not to mention, in the excitement of spending time with my mom and grandma in the kitchen, I realized I stopped photographing the process about halfway through. Oops. Don’t worry, though, I have something even better for you. Here is a step-by-step guide from the guys at The Bitten Word. If nothing else, scroll down and watch the vide they have provided because it is fantastic. Their post is gorgeous and informative, so please check it out.

Eggs in Tomato Sauce

1/2 tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
2 tablespoons white wine
1 pint canned tomatoes
pinch sugar
½ teaspoon salt
ground black pepper, to taste
2 large eggs
2 slices toasted bread of your choice

In a medium skillet, heat the oil, garlic, and pepper flakes over medium heat until the garlic and pepper is sizzling. Add the wine and let it simmer until it becomes syrupy, about 2 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, sugar, salt and pepper. Reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer until thickened, 12 to 15 minutes.

Break the eggs into individual small cups. Make wells or indentations in the sauce, and gently transfer the eggs from the cups to the wells; season the eggs with salt and pepper. Cover the pan and cook over medium-low heat for 5 to 7 minutes, or until the whites are set.

Spoon a portion of sauce with an egg over toasted bread. Serve immediately.

Source: The Way The Cookie Crumbles

September 13, 2010. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Amy replied:

    I used to hand off the hard-boiled yolk to my grandmother when I was a kid, but in the past year or so, I’ve gotten to where I can eat it. (I love really runny eggs too.) I saw this recipe in the cookbook you gave me, and I really want to try it. Which farmer’s market did you get the bread from? I will have to try this one for myself.

  2. R @ Learning As I Chop replied:

    Yum, this looks delicious! And a good way to eat the yoke since it has so many nutrients

  3. Rachel in NC replied:

    I love eggs, including the yolk, but I agree with you that they cannot be runny at all. And don’t get me started on runny egg whites! Gross!

  4. Elina (Healthy and Sane) replied:

    I’m sure the runny egg would add a lot but of course if you don’t like it then it wouldn’t work for you. My husband is the same. Too bad because I’d love to make this dish, as is :)

  5. Joanne replied:

    Love egg dishes.
    We had a frittata tonight. Eggs are just an all around dish – breakfast, lunch, dinner. Too bad you’re not a fan but the tomato sauce…at least you scored there. :)

  6. Leslie replied:

    Mmm…this looks delicious! Like you, I am not a fan of the yolk, and can’t tolerate a runny one at all. Our favorite last minute dinner is an egg white omelette with roasted vegetables, a dish that would be elevated so new heights by introducing this tomato sauce.

  7. janet replied:

    I’ve made this recipe before and love it, too! Simple yet super tasty. :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

