CEiMB: Chicken with Mango Barbecue Sauce

The last two weeks’ of CEiMB recipes have sounded wonderful. Whole-Wheat Pancakes with Strawberry Sauce – what would go better with pancakes than strawberry sauce? And the Energy Bars sound like a great snack to pack in my lunch tote for days when I’m on campus from 8am-8pm. Unfortunately, I just didn’t get to the recipes. I plan to make them this weekend, so be sure to look for a post about them very soon.

I did, however, make this Chicken with Mango Barbecue Sauce last weekend and will post about it instead. This dish was actually made by the CEiMBers just before I joined the group, way back in March of 2009! I can’t even believe I’ve been a member of this wonderful group for so long and blogging for almost two years now. Wow. When I think how much I’ve changed both in relation to my cooking/eating and just life in general since starting this blog, I’m amazed.

This is a recipe that, just a couple years ago, I would not have chosen to make. Fruit and meat combinations are rarely something that interest me for whatever reason, and the ingredient list is a little on the long side (for me, anyway). Those two factors would have resulted in an automatic “flip to the next page” in my pre-blog life. Now, thanks to the help of trying so many delicious Ellie recipes and fusions of ingredients I would never have thought of myself, I am much more open to trying new and exciting flavor profiles. And this is a perfect example of why that is a good thing!

I was a little apprehensive about the barbecue sauce after blending it because the taste was a little off for my liking, but once the chicken had a chance to sit in the marinade for an hour then be broiled, it was fantastic. The hardest part of this recipe was dicing the mango, and honestly, I’m pretty sure that is only because this was my first time cutting a mango. The barbecue sauce comes together very quickly. The recipe yields about 3 cups of barbecue sauce, and since you are told to marinate the chicken in 1 cup, I ended up freezing the other 2 cups. You could also use some for serving, though I thought it was flavorful enough without, then freeze the other half. Either way, know that this will make enough sauce for plenty of chicken! I’m looking forward to having this on hand for a quick weeknight dinner.

Chicken with Mango Barbecue Sauce

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, diced
1 red pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, coarsely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground allspice
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
3 tablespoons molasses
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup low-sodium tomato sauce
1 mango, diced
1 jalapeno, minced
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Heat the oil in a medium-sized skillet over medium-high. Add the onions and cook until translucent, about 2 minutes. Add the red peppers, garlic, salt and pepper, and allspice and cook for 2 minutes more. Stir in the vinegar, molasses, Worcestershire sauce, lime juice and tomato sauce and cook for 1 minute more. Transfer the mixture into a bender and add the mango and jalapeno. Blend until smooth.

Put 1 cup of the barbeque sauce into a sealable plastic bag with the chicken and marinate for 1 hour.

Preheat the broiler. Put the chicken on a broiler pan and discard the marinade. Broil the chicken on high for about 12 minutes, turning once. Let the meat rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

Source: Ellie Krieger

September 23, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Jenn replied:

    The first time I ever had a mango, I had to watch a YouTube video on cutting one!

  2. Bri replied:

    I was laughing about the mango because I am so inept when it comes to cutting them! I made this Ellie dish probably a year ago, not with the group, and we loved it. I did find that it made a ton of barbecue sauce, so we had leftovers for a while. I agree with you; I’m not much for meat and fruit combos, but by broadening my horizons I have been pleasantly surprised! Good for you.

  3. Kayte replied:

    Oh, this looks delicious…I need to go back and make this one as I don’t think I made it, probably before I joined or I have totally spaced remembering it. Yours looks fantastic…am thinking this week on this one.

  4. Danica replied:

    I NEED to add this to my must try list. I thought when I saw the title it sounded good, then, I saw your picture and drooled!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

