Meatless Monday: Egyptian Edamame Stew

A while back, for Ellie Krieger’s Emerald Stir-Fry (in case you missed it, there is a really cute picture on that post so you should check it out), I cooked with edamame for the first time. I am not sure what I had been afraid of prior to that, but I had never been inspired to try them. The firm little bean won me over instantly; I love what a great texture it adds to any dish. Ever since that first taste, I’ve been thinking of ways to incorporate more edamame in my cooking, and when I stumbled across this recipe on Eating Well, I knew it would work perfectly to meet two goals: a meal for Meatless Monday and a way to try these “twig beans” in a new way.

Eating Well has become a favorite source of recipes for me; I cannot think of any of their recipes that I have not loved. I admire the commitment they have to presenting healthy recipes of all kinds. They are an immense asset when looking for vegetarian meals and have quite a variety of cuisines represented. If you haven’t browsed their site, I highly recommend it (and no, I am not being compensated in any way for this). They also publish a magazine and cookbooks for anyone interested in printed recipes. I tend to trust their recipes and follow them nearly to the letter, and this one was no exception. I forgot the lemon juice at first and felt the dish was lacking something; once I remembered to add the lemon, it was perfect. Never having Egyptian food before, I can’t comment on the authenticity, but this has definitely evoked a curiosity in me about this new fare. Not to mention that this all came together incredibly quickly and yields generous, hearty portions making it a perfect weeknight meal turned leftovers for lunch.

On top of the nice crispness they provide, edamame also supplies a nutritional boost to any dish with a hearty dose of fiber, protein, and those all important omega fatty acids. I know there is some contention about the health benefits vs the risks of soy protein, especially in women, but in moderation, this immature soybean is a great option for meatless meal-planning.

Egyptian Edamame Stew
1 10-ounce packages frozen shelled edamame, thawed
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
1 large zucchini, diced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes
3 tablespoons lemon juice

Bring a large saucepan of water to a boil. Add edamame and cook until tender, 4 to 5 minutes or according to package directions. Drain.

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook, covered, stirring occasionally, until starting to soften, about 3 minutes. Add zucchini and cook, covered, until the onions are starting to brown, about 3 minutes more. Add garlic, cumin, coriander and cayenne and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in tomatoes and bring to a boil; reduce heat to a simmer and cook until slightly reduced, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the edamame and cook until heated through, about 2 minutes more. Remove from the heat and stir in lemon juice. Serve over whole wheat couscous.

Source: Eating Well
4 servings | 5 POINTS

September 27, 2010. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

