Green Beans with Tomatoes


It seems that fall has officially arrived, at least for a few days. Yesterday the temperature maxed out just below 70 degrees, and after sitting in the shade, feeling the wind beat against me for a few hours, I was COLD. There’s a word I didn’t think I would get to mutter for at least another month or so. The forecast seems to want to convince me that these temperatures are short-lived and we’ll be seeing another warm front in a couple days, but in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the cool air.

I love autumn. It is probably my favorite of all the seasons though I would ask that you don’t make me choose just one. Colorful leaves, the scent of cinnamon, bright orange pumpkins, cozying up under a blanket on the sofa with all my boys, fresh air circling through our apartment now that the windows are open, watching The Braves make it into the playoffs… All great things worth celebrating! But let us not forget that there are some negatives to this new season. All the fresh produce I fell in love with this past summer? Gone. But not forgotten.

If, like me, you are enjoying the dropping temperatures but still want to hold on to the foods of the summer, this is the dish for you. Green beans and tomatoes, canned in my grandma’s kitchen, come together to let the sunniest season linger a while longer. Of course, if you don’t have canned tomatoes or green beans on hand, don’t fret – there are some phenomenal commercially-produced canner tomatoes out there and those steam in the bag frozen green beans are pretty top-notch.

Originally I wasn’t sure about combining these two ingredients. Sure, I love them each on their own, but for some reason, the idea of them together seemed strange to me. Luckily I put my trust in Martha Stewart and was not let down. This recipe comes from the new Everyday Food “Fresh Flavor Fast” cookbook, and it was a great way for me to combine two of my summertime staples. This dish comes together quickly and is incredibly flavorful. Martha does it again!

Green Beans with Tomatoes
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon chopped garlic
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 pint canned chopped tomatoes
1 pint canned green beans
1 teaspoon dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Add onion and garlic; cook, stirring often, until golden, 2-3 minutes.

Add tomatoes; cook, stirring occasionally, until beginning to break down, about 2 minutes. Add green beans, season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low; cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until green beans are tender, 10-15 minutes. Stir in oregano, and serve.

Source: Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food “Fresh Flavor Fast”, p. 275

October 5, 2010. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Bri replied:

    I could have used this last week! I bought two pounds of fresh green beans and then realized I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with them. I’ll admit, I’m still coming around to the idea of just eating tomatoes without them being finely diced or burst in the oven. But this does look really good!

  2. torviewtoronto replied:

    delicious healthy love the colour

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

