CEiMB: Tomato Soup


I’m going to try to keep this post short for a few reasons. A) I am hopped up on migraine medicine. This has been a stressful week, and the frequency of my migraines has increased accordingly. Boo. B) The Atlanta Braves *finally* made it to the playoffs for the first time in… a long time, and the game is about to start. Yay! C) I just typed an entire entry up and accidentally deleted it. Oops! (By the way, what is the “undo” button for if it won’t actually, you know, undo something? Bah!)

I made a couple changes to the recipe, starting with the title. It’s actually supposed to be Tomato-Tortilla Soup, but since I served it alongside mushroom quesadillas, I thought I would forego the extra carbs (and effort). As for the rest of it, I used fire-roasted tomatoes and omitted the lime juice, and I’m afraid my two omissions, the citrus and tortilla strips, may be the reason my soup seemed to be missing a little something. It was good, just not great. I would have liked it spicier, with a bit a more Mexican flavor; instead it sort of just tasted like vegetable soup. But I will tinker with the recipe because it’s worth trying again, especially for only 115 calories per generous 2 cup serving!

Be sure to check out how the other CEiMBers fared this week, and stop by Mary’s blog, Popsicles and Sandy Feet, to thank her for hosting this week!

Tomato Soup
1 tsp canola oil
1 medium onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium jalapeno pepper, seeded, diced
1 tsp ground cumin
3/4 tsp dried oregano
4 cups no salt added vegetable broth
28 ounces canned diced fire-roasted tomatoes

Heat the oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until onion is soft and translucent. Add the garlic, jalapeno, cumin, and oregano and cook for 1 minute more. Add the broth and tomatoes, bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for about 10 minutes.

Remove the pan from the heat and puree with an immersion blender or in 2 batches in a regular blender until the soup lightens in color but chunks of tomato remain, about 30 seconds.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life”, p. 76
4 servings | 2 POINTS

October 7, 2010. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. April in CT replied:

    I can see this in my near future with a grilled cheese for company!

  2. Bri replied:

    I hate it when that happens! I’ve accidentally deleted entire posts, too. The resulting published post is always much shorter than the original! Sorry you’ve been having migraines. I hope that clears up soon.

    As for the immersion blender, I just got a Cuisinart Smart Stick for my bday a few months ago. I love it! It comes with a measuring cup that it just the width around as the stick blender, so nothing gets out if you blend stuff in that. I did blend something once that was splashing a little, but I think that was user error more than the blender. This time, with the soup, it was effortless. I was very happy with the way it worked. Oh, and I also have a Kitchen Aid hand mixer that came with an immersion blender attachment; very cool! So if you’re in the market for a hand mixer that could be one way to go.

  3. Shandy Hanke replied:

    You accidentally deleted the first write-up? Oh know! I would have been slightly miffed.

    Your tomato soup looks delicious! The tortilla chips and sour cream do add a lot to the dish. I did leave half of the seeds in for the jalapeno (came from my own garden) so we had kick which also must have made a big difference. I hope you try the recipe again because I know with changes you would love it.

  4. Mary replied:

    I like your version. Nice work.

  5. Amanda replied:

    I’m sorry about your migraine! I get ’em too so I know what it’s like. I bet that soup would be delicious with a grilled cheese.

  6. Kayte replied:

    Drives me crazy when that delete business happens. I have done it more times than I care to admit. Your soup looks wonderful…and between you and me, I liked it better without the tortilla in there anyway, it is so good just on its own. Very nice little bowl you have there. I need one like that to serve this soup in.

  7. The Not So Skinny Kitchen – CEiMB: Mushroom Quesadillas replied:

    […] opportunity to be distracted for a few hours. Our menu consisted of last week’s CEiMB pick, Tomato Soup, and these Mushroom […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

