CEiMB: Chicken-less Pot Pies


This week’s CEiMB recipe was chosen by Shandy of Pastry Heaven, and while the long ingredient list for these pot pies was a little intimidating, don’t let that discourage you! This was probably one of my favorite Ellie dishes so far, and Ryan was also an incredibly happy diner.

I know pot pie is a true comfort food for most people, but it isn’t something I grew up eating so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. The few I’ve had in the past were on the bland side which made me nervous that these would be as well. To combat this issue, I was sure to continually taste test the filling as I was cooking to make sure there was enough flavor. Before putting these in the oven, I decided to add a little Emeril’s Essence just for a bit more flavor. I also threw in a few sliced carrots. Perfection!

The only thing I would change about this dish is actually the one substitution I made: I used Trader Joe’s Chickenless Strips in place of chicken breast just because I wanted to try something different. Neither of us were a fan of the texture of the strips, and I will not use them in the future. That said, I will be making this dish again and again!!

Thanks so much to Shandy for such a great pick that I never would have chosen on my own; I can’t wait to make these again later this winter. For the POINTS, this is incredibly warming, filling, and rich-tasting. It tastes more sinful than it really is!


And now, I want to congratulate Margaret of Tea and Scones on winning the CSN gift card giveaway! I hope you’ll use the extra money to treat yourself to something nice, Margaret. Thanks to everyone who participated :)

Chicken-less Pot Pies
4 ounces Trader Joe’s Chickenless Strips, or boneless skinless chicken breast, diced
2 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 leek, bottom 4 inches only, washed well and chopped
1 celery stalk, chopped
5 ounces red potatoes (6 small) cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1/4 pound green beans, trimmed and chopped into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cups fat free milk
1/6 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and pepper, to taste
all-purpose seasoning (optional)
2 sheets frozen phyllo dough, thawed
1 tablespoon grated Parmesan

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 4 individual-sized baking dishes with cooking spray.

Add 1 teaspoon of the oil, the leek and the celery to the pan and cook until vegetables begin to soften, about 3 minutes. Add the potatoes, green beans, and garlic; cook for 2 more minutes.

Add the milk to the pan. Stir the flour into the broth until dissolved and add to the pan. Cook, stirring, until the mixture comes to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low. Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes. Stir in the Chickenless Strips or chicken, peas, and thyme. Season with salt, pepper, and all-purpose seasoning (if desired) to taste. Spoon the mixture into the prepared baking dishes.

Unroll the phyllo dough and cut it into quarters. Place a quarter sheet on top of each baking dish, then layer with another quarter sheet. Drizzle 1/2 teaspoon olive oil over phyllo dough. Repeat with remaining baking dish. Tuck the edges of the phyllo into the dish rim. Top each pie with Parmesan.

Place on a baking sheet and bake until the filling is bubbling, about 20-30 minutes. [Ellie recommends 30 minutes, but that resulted in an overly brown pot pie for me (pictured above). I cooked Ryan’s for only 20 minutes, and it was beautifully golden and bubbly.]

Source: Ellie Krieger
2 servings | 7 POINTS

October 21, 2010. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Marthe replied:

    Really liked this! Unfortunately I took no pics…

  2. Marthe replied:

    Loved this, like you I had never had Chicken Po Pie before: will make it again!

  3. Kayte replied:

    Hoping to get to this by the weekend as I have been waiting a long time for this recipe to be chosen. Yours looks great. Between you and me, a few carrots are going to find their way into mine as well, what’s a pot pie without a few carrots??? Yours looks so yummy!

  4. Bri replied:

    Well, browned or not, it looks like yours was a great success! This is one I’ve made before, and I can see myself making it many times this winter. Always a hit!

  5. Shandy Hanke replied:

    Your chickenless pot pie looks delicious! I love that you tried a new ingredient; sorry the chickenless strips didn’t work out. You loved the pot pie recipe though and so did we. Thank you for baking along with me this week =), Shandy

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

