Meatless Monday: Southwestern Stuffed Peppers

Since I accidentally deleted the post I had written for this (yes, that’s the second time in a few weeks), I am going to keep this short: delicious and easy. You must try this.

Even though I normally don’t like anything that comes out of my CrockPot, we’ve made this twice in the past month. It’s incredibly simple to pull together; in fact, Ryan prepared it the second time. I think this would be a bit better if it was baked in the oven as the peppers do become quite soft, but for late nights after a long day on campus, these hit the spot.

Southwestern Stuffed Peppers
4 medium green bell peppers
1 can low sodium black beans, rinsed and drained
4 ounces reduced-fat pepper jack cheese, shredded
3/4 cup salsa
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1/3 cup uncooked parboiled rice
1 tablespoon taco seasoning

Cut thin slice off top of each bell pepper. Carefully remove seeds, leaving pepper whole.

Combine beans, cheese, salsa, corn, onions, rice, and seasoning in medium bowl. Spoon filling evenly into each pepper. Place peppers in slow cooker. Cover; cook on LOW 4 to 6 hours.

Source: TLC Cooking
4 servings | 5 POINTS

October 25, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Rebecca Jean replied:

    These look fantastic! It’s great when the slow cooker can do the work for you. These are definitely going on my to make for Meatless Monday list.

    This would be a great post to link to Midnight Maniac Meatless Mondays.

    ♥ Rebecca Jean
    Midnight Maniac

  2. Joanne replied:

    Wonderful! Everything about stuffed MEATLESS peppers works for me. Great recipe, Liz.

  3. Katerina replied:

    We stuff peppers too with rice and fround meat. Yours look perfect. I am sure they tasted great as well.

  4. Bri replied:

    Great minds must think alike, because I just recently made stuffed peppers, too, and am planning on blogging about them very soon! This was my first attempt at making them, and I did not use the Crock Pot, but they were a huge hit nonetheless! Oh, and mine weren’t vegetarian, either. Yours look very yummy, and I’m glad to have ideas for other ingredients to stuff peppers with, now that I know I love them. Maybe next time my peppers with be Southwestern!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

