CEiMB: Spaghetti Frittata


As part of CEiMB, I have made several “egg dishes”. Everything from baked french toast to strata to breakfast bake to hash. It seems Ellie is a big fan of eggs. And usually I am too. But for some reason, none of the aforementioned dishes have really been a hit around here. Part of the problem is that Ryan is a little iffy about eggs in general, but for the most part neither of us has particularly loved the texture of previous dishes. Needless to say, this past experience left me a little hesitant to make the frittata that Marthe from Culinary Delights chose this week, but I forged ahead anyway.

Can I tell you something? Much to my surprise, this was quite a success! Even after burning the bottom (oops!), we both found this dish to be yummy, especially when served with extra marinara sauce on the side. While I don’t typically make enough pasta to have leftovers, it wasn’t at all hard to toss a few extra ounces of spaghetti into the boiling water one night, and I loved recycling the leftovers into a new dish a couple days later. The first night I served this with the leftover veggies (mushrooms, onions, and zucchini) tossed with store-bought marinara sauce from our spaghetti night, but when we reheated the frittata, I served it with roasted potatoes, green beans, and homemade tomato sauce. Both ways were delicious, but we were both ooh-ing and ah-ing once it was topped with the homemade sauce and there were a couple more components on the plate.

I want to thank Marthe for a great Ellie pick this week and for being our wonderful hostess over at CEiMB. Be sure to stop by her blog and check in on all the other Ellie-istas :) You might notice that I made a couple small changes to the recipe, like cutting the eggs down a bit and using frozen rather than fresh spinach, but overall I stuck to it pretty closely. Next time I might try cutting back on the whole eggs and substituting more egg whites simply because yolks are a bit high in cholesterol (in case you’re watching that kind of thing).

Spaghetti Frittata
3/4 cup liquid egg whites (or the whites of 4 large eggs)
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, sliced in half moons
8 ounces frozen chopped spinach, thawed, squeezed
1/4 cup sun-tomatoes, julienned, reconstituted in boiling water for 10 minutes
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
4 ounces dry whole wheat spaghetti, prepared according to package directions
1/2 cup marinara sauce (I used Classico Spicy Red Pepper)
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

In a medium bowl, whisk to combine egg whites with whole eggs. Set aside.

Heat the oil in large oven-proof, nonstick skillet over a medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add the spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, salt and pepper and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 1 minute. Add the pasta to the pan and stir to combine. Pour the eggs evenly over the pasta and vegetables. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for 6 to 8 minutes, until eggs are set on the edges but not in the middle.

Preheat the broiler. Sprinkle the top of the frittata with cheese and place under the broiler. Cooke until the top is set and golden brown, 2 to 3 minutes. Be careful not to overcook or the eggs will become tough. Cut into 6 wedges and serve.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p. 100
6 servings | 5 POINTS

October 27, 2010. recipes.

9 Comments

  1. Margaret replied:

    Let me be the first (hahahaha) to say how pretty your frittata is. Lots of spinach and lots of flavor. This was good, wasn’t it?

  2. Amanda replied:

    This is beautiful! I would have never imagined adding in whole wheat spaghetti.

  3. Amy replied:

    I LOVE egg dishes or just eggs in general, and this looks really yummy. I will have to try it soon.

  4. Marthe replied:

    Your Frittata looks delicious!! I’m glad you liked my pick :D. Like you I usually don’t have any leftover pasta, but from now on I might just measure out a little bit too much pasta every now and then just so I have an excuse to make this dish again!!’;)

  5. Bri replied:

    Ellie-istas, I love it!! I’m glad you mentioned that you cut down on the eggs; I did too, but forgot to say that in my post. I also had 4 eggs and 4 egg whites in mine, and felt like that was plenty. Yours looks beautiful with the side dishes and everything. I agree that this is an Ellie egg dish worth repeating!

  6. Kayte replied:

    I love it when people are surprised by a recipe and end up loving it. It looks really good. Yes, it does, it looks really good. I wanted to like it…but we like our eggs and our pasta on opposite sides of the plate. I liked the salad, though, does that count?

  7. Joanne replied:

    I wasn’t thrilled about the dish. Ted had it the following day, added more cheese and then proclaimed it was ok. I guess I’ll stick to my plain old, no pasta added Frittata.

    Just wanted to mention to you Liz, if you enjoy yoga, I’m giving away a 5 Day Intensive Yoga Course. Check it out on my site :)

  8. Chaya replied:

    Yours is one of the most attractive. I think all those who did not like it, would give yours another shot. It was a nice recipe.

  9. Connie B replied:

    Sooo, how did you know that I was wanting an “eggy” type dish???? I was thinking about making something in the next couple days that I am off, so that I have quick bfast ideas!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

