CEiMB: Cioppino


Hi, all! I haven’t been around much the past couple weeks simply because we’re at the point in the semester when I have lots of studying and assignments. Eek! Hopefully I can get back on-track with blogging and tweeting over the next couple weeks. In the meantime, please bear with me as I try to catch up on posting and blog-reading.

I haven’t been spending much time in the kitchen lately and instead have been opting for quick dinners like store-bought rotisserie chicken or frozen packages of steam-able pasta and veggie dishes. I knew I would need to participate in this week’s CEiMB recipe as soon as I saw the recipe though. I think Margaret over at Tea and Scones might be one of the few people I know that loves seafood as much as I do! Now, I’m a little squeamish about certain types of seafood, but since this recipe contains my three favorites – shrimp, scallops, and white fish – I was all over it. Most cioppinos I have seen in restaurants contain “other stuff” that I am not as fond of, so I was excited to finally try this dish which I’ve always heard good things about.

Verdict: I liked it quite a bit. For the most part, I stuck to the recipe exactly except that I halved it since I was making it for only myself. I doubled the amount of some of the aromatics and used tilapia in place of the halibut but kept the rest the same. I think next time I will use even a bit more crushed red pepper flakes and try to find halibut or cod (the texture of the tilapia was a bit off for me), but there will be a next time.

Cioppino
1/2 tbl olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dried thyme
1 bay leaf
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tbl tomato pasate
1/2 cup dry white wine
14.5 oz cans no-salt-added diced tomatoes
1/2 cup water + a few splashes of fish sauce
1/2 tbl red wine vinegar
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 lb medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/4 pound scallops
1 medium fillet of tilapia, cut into 1″ pieces

Heat olive oil over medium-high heat in a large soup pot. Add the onion and celery and cook, stirring, until slightly softened, about 5 minutes.

Add the garlic, thyme, bay leaf, and red pepper flakes and cook, stirring, an additional 1 minute. Stir in the tomato paste. Add the wine, bring to a boil and cook over medium-high heat for 3 mintues.

Add the tomatoes with their juices and the water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in the vinegar, salt, and pepper. Add the shrimp, scallops, and fish. Reduce the heat and simmer, until everything is just cooked, about 5 minutes. Divide among 4 bowls.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week,” p. 199
2 servings

November 21, 2010. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    It looks great, Liz. We liked it just okay, it did not have the “wow” factor for us, but it was enjoyable when we ate it as we are big seafood lovers here as well. Can’t put my finger on what it was, but I am happy that you enjoyed it and will make it again, always fun to hear about something that was a hit for someone. Best wishes on all that studying and your exams, etc. It will be so worth it!

  2. Chelle replied:

    We’re big seafood lovers here and we loved this! In fact, when it came up in my Google reader today I knew I wanted it tonight and ran to the store to get the seafood. We used tilapia as well, and I thought it went ok.

    We will definitely be making it again – and it was so easy!

  3. Bri replied:

    Looks beautiful! This was probably a no-brainer for you, being a seafood lover. I’m glad I went ahead and made this one, albeit with the changes I made. And as Kayte already said, best of luck with all the schoolwork! Sometime I would love to hear more about what you’re going to school for, etc.

  4. Lindsey replied:

    Yes, this is a crazy time for school–good luck finishing everything up!

    We’ve been so busy I didn’t even look up the recipe for this one–otherwise I probably would have made it. You’re right–restaurants often put in “scary” seafood (oysters? *shudder*) when they make cioppino–this one looks like a safe bet for me. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

