CEiMB: Tortellini Spinach Soup


When I saw this week’s CEiMB choice, I have to admit I was surprised. Let me explain why. This soup was chosen by Bri at Yoshimi Vs. Motherhood, and she and I initially bonded over a dislike of tomatoes. That was quite some time ago, and we’ve both tackled many tomato recipes since then. But I am still not used to either one of us choosing a recipe that has a can of diced tomatoes in it! We’ve come a long way :) (And wait until you see what I chose for next week’s recipe. I’ll give you a hint… there are lots of mushrooms!)

Yesterday was the perfect soup weather; it’s finally getting cold around here, and I love the way soup warms me from the inside out. Every time I am cold and eat soup, I think of those Campbell’s commercials where the snowman melts away into a little boy. Now, I don’t know about you, but I loved chicken and stars when I was a kid. Yummy. Unfortunately, it just doesn’t have the same appeal that it used to. Luckily for me, this soup is much better than anything I’ve had from a can! I used homemade turkey stock that I made last week from the Thanksgiving leftovers, but this could be a fantastic vegetarian dinner if made with vegetable broth. It came together really quickly and tasted great. Two thumbs up!

Now, for a little bloggy talk for just a minute… As you may have noticed, I have usually posted the Weight Watchers POINTS information for each recipe. As of this week, WW has converted to a new plan and these values will no longer be correct. I know that some WW bloggers are going back and recalculating all their old recipes. I’m not gonna lie… I’m not going to do that. What I am going to do is take this opportunity to change up the format of my blog ever so slightly, and I’m going to let you decide what you want.

Does anyone care about the nutritional information?
If no, then I’ll just keep on posting as I have been, minus the WW info which is how I’ve done today’s post.

If yes, we have a few options.
–I can post a link to where I have input the recipe on livestrong.com which would allow you to see exactly which ingredients I used and customize the recipe (if you use or create a livestrong.com account which is free and no I’m not a sponsor or getting endorsed it just happens to be a site I use) OR
–I can insert an image of the Nutrition Information (like what you would get on a can of soup!) OR
–you can leave some other suggestion for what you would like to see.

Also, in general, I am considering changing a few things around over my winter break so please let me know if there are things you like, don’t like, want to change, would miss, etc.

Now, be sure to head over to Bri’s blog to say hello and thank her for a great pick this week! Also, if you’re having a case of dry mouth, scroll down to the Bourbon Chocolate Pecan Pie she posted about; you’ll be drooling in no time!

Tortellini Spinach Soup
1 tsp canola oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups carrots, chopped
1 cup celery, chopped
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme
3/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
14-ounce can no salt added diced tomatoes, with juice
6 cups no salt added broth (I used turkey)
4 ounces baby spinach
9-ounce package fresh store-bought cheese tortellini

1. Heat the oil in a 4- or 6-quart saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, until the onions are translucent and the garlic is softened, another 3 minutes. Add the carrot, celery, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes and cook, stirring, until softened, 5 to 6 minutes.

2. Add the tomatoes with their juices and the broth and bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes. Add the spinach and tortellini and cook until the tortellini are cooked through, 6 minutes. Serve topped with Parmesan cheese.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p. 90
4 servings, approximately 2 1/2 cups each

December 2, 2010. recipes.

6 Comments

  1. Amy replied:

    This looks so yummy! And I like the idea of showing the nutritional label for the recipes, if that’s not too much trouble for you.

  2. Margaret replied:

    This was sooo much better than Campbells, altho’ I do still love their Tomato soup. Just the kid in me.

    That bowl of soup looks so warm and comforting and nutricuous, and delicious and…..well you get the point.

    I’m not one for reading nutrition since I do all of my own cooking anyway and know what I put in dishes. I like your blog just the way it is, personally!!!

  3. Jenn replied:

    This is a favorite winter meal at my house. I make this a lot when I’m craving something warm, low in points, and easy.

  4. DeAnna replied:

    Looks super yummy! I vote for posting a nutrition label. :)

  5. Bri replied:

    Aww, you are just too kind! I appreciated the shout-out to my pecan pie there at the end! It really was one of the yummiest things I have tasted in a long time, and I was afraid my poorly lit photos were not doing it the proper justice.

    I know, it’s so funny how far we’ve come! Me, choosing a dish with tomatoes. You, choosing a dish with mushrooms. Although, yes, I did cheat just a tad. I pureed my diced tomatoes with my immersion blender! Still, I don’t even know if I would have chosen to make something like this one year ago, so it’s still progress.

    Thanks for making this, Liz! I’m so glad you guys liked it.

  6. Kayte replied:

    This was great, wasn’t it? Love your post about it all. I just got around to making it today and it’s a keeper! Great photo of it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

