CEiMB: Beef Stroganoff with Green Beans and Grainy Mustard


Even when life gets hectic and my cooking and blogging are lacking, I always try to prepare the weekly CEiMB recipe. Even though I am not always successful in getting it made in time, there are two main reasons I try. First, I have thoroughly enjoyed most of the Ellie recipes I’ve made. And second, and more important, I love the group of bloggers that participate every week! It’s a fairly small group, and I like that this allows us to get to know each other a little better than if the blogroll was lengthy. The past year and a half with the group has opened me up to tons of new flavor combinations and ingredients that I wouldn’t have tried otherwise, and I’ve made some good blog friends. Win, win in my book.

As much as I enjoy cooking along with each hostess every week, it is such a privilege to pick this week’s recipe. Maybe this is silly, but I look forward to the selection process every time my turn comes around. I like to pull out both of Ellie’s cookbooks and just take the time to flip through each page, marking recipes that look good. This time, however, I came across this recipe online while I was searching for something else entirely and immediately bookmarked it knowing my week to host was coming up. While I don’t remember ever having stroganoff before, it seems unlikely that I haven’t tried it at least once before. What’s not to enjoy – beef, noodles, mushrooms, and a creamy sauce.

It seems this dish, which has Russian roots, has many variations, at least according to Wikipedia. It often contains mustard or tomato paste, though this recipe has neither. Perhaps this is why Ellie paired the dish with her green beans tossed in grainy mustard. I did like the combination of the two served together but also enjoyed the stroganoff on its own. The sauce is rich and flavorful without feeling heavy or overly sinful and is quite decadent over the noodles. While I cannot comment on the authenticity of the recipe having nothing to compare it to, I can say it is one I’ll be making again.

Thanks to all the CEiMBistas who cooked along with me this week – I hope everyone enjoyed it!

Beef Stroganoff

4 tsp canola oil
1 lb London broil
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
16 oz mushrooms, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp all-purpose Flour
2 cups unsalted beef broth
1/2 cup red wine
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
6 oz plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
6 oz uncooked wide noodles

Prepare noodles according to package instructions, omitting salt and oil.

Meanwhile, heat 2 teaspoons of the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the beef and cook until browned on all sides, about 5 minutes. Transfer the meat with its juices to a plate.

Heat the remaining 2 teaspoons of oil in the skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook, stirring, until soft and translucent, about 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until the mushrooms are soft and have released most of their water, about 5 minutes.

Return the beef and juices to the pan and stir to incorporate. Sprinkle with the flour and stir until well combined. Add the beef broth, wine, salt, and pepper and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the mixture thickens and reduces slightly, 5 minutes. Stir in the yogurt and cook for 1 minute more. At this point, my sauce was still a little thinner than I preferred so I added a bit of cornstarch mixed with water and stirred until thickened.

Serve approximately 1 1/2 cups beef-mushroom mixture over approximately 1 cup cooked whole-wheat egg noodles. Sprinkle with parsley if desired.

Green Beans and Grainy Mustard

16 oz green beans
2 tsp whole grain dijon mustard

Place the green beans in a steamer basket over a pot of boiling water. Cover and cook until crisp and tender, about 4 minutes. Drain the beans and transfer to a large serving bowl. Add the mustard and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper, to taste, and serve.

Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week”, p. 120
4 servings

December 9, 2010. recipes.

9 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    Well, I’m not there yet, but I will be…waiting to see if the meat goes on sale this weekend as it has been very pricey and this cut is usually on sale, so figure it will be this week or next and I will make the recipe then. Beef Stroganoff is one of my husband’s favorite, in fact he knows how to cook about three things from college and this was one of them, so I am eager to try Ellie’s version. Yours looks so good that now I REALLY am eager to get to it…going in search of those market ads now. Thanks for picking this, I have been wanting to do it.

  2. Bri replied:

    Yours does look really, really good. Thanks for the pick; yet another one that I’m glad I made, even though I would have passed it by if not for you! I did cheat and use pork, but it was still good!

  3. Sarah replied:

    I am glad I tried this one. Great pick.

  4. Joanne replied:

    Looks superb!
    I enjoy making the Ellie recipe every week as well. Even when I get cooking and baking burn out, I’ll still look forward to Ellie’s recipes.

  5. Lindsey replied:

    You’re giving me courage (again!) to try something. I tried a beef stroganoff recipe last year, and neither the husband nor I enjoyed it–but, like you, I don’t know what authentic is supposed to taste like! Maybe I’ll like Ellie’s version better. Thanks for the tip!

  6. peggy replied:

    I have not made this yet. I’m running behind on everything. Especially Christmas shopping!! But I plan to make it maybe this weekend. Yours looks delicious. It is a great pick.

  7. Margaret replied:

    Okay. I confess. I haven’t had a chance for this one yet either. Hoping to get to it this wknd. For some reason the last week just got crazy. Now that finals are over…..

    Yours looks so rich and delicious. Love Stroganoff and haven’t made it in ages.

  8. Danica replied:

    Great choice Liz. Jay was so excited when he saw that we were making a steak recipe. I actually somehow missed the green beans part though until after we ate it and I was posting :)

    Your picture presentation is beautiful!

  9. Elina (Healthy and Sane) replied:

    I couldn’t keep up with the group anymore but still love seeing your creations here. Must try this recipe… it’s been a while since I’ve made an Ellie recipe!
    Happy holidays!!
    PS – I’m hosting a giveaway for sustainable seafood. Check it out if you’re interested! :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

