CEiMB: Mushroom Barley Stew


Hey, strangers! It appears I’ve gone MIA for quite some time now, and I’m here to rectify that situation ASAP :) Since I’ve been gone for so long, I have a lot to catch up on. This week I have a special treat for you guys: five days of CEiMB recipes. In case that isn’t enough to excite you, I also have two giveaways coming up, one of which will be posted some time this week so be sure to keep checking back!

Even though this post is under the heading of CEiMB, it could also be a Meatless Monday recipe. You didn’t think I forgot about Meatless Monday did you? The original Ellie recipe was called Beef and Mushroom Barley Soup, but I made some significant changes (including the title). We had this on a Monday, so I omitted the beef, and since Ryan isn’t crazy about brothy soups, I left out quite a bit of the broth in order to make this a thicker, stew-like dish. I have to admit that I cheated and used some leftover beef broth, but I think it would have been just as good with vegetable broth. I also added some Worcestershire sauce and steak seasoning to impart a little more beefy flavor to the stew. End result? I loved it! Definitely one I’ll be making again. Thanks so much to Jennifer at The Rookie Baker for picking this one. Even though I didn’t have the chance to participate with the group, I was quite inspired to make it after reading such good reviews from my fellow CEiMBistas.

As I said, be sure to check back this week as I get caught up on CEiMB. I’m also looking forward to catching up with all my blogging friends as I haven’t been great about keeping in touch over the past several weeks. I hope everyone is having a great 2011 so far!

In keeping with the new year (and the abundance of healthy living resolutions), there is a new feature here at TNSSK. Instead of posting WW POINTS information as I have done in the past, I will now be posting nutrition information similar to what you would find a nutrition label for packaged foods. I’ve also set it up so that you can click on the label to be directed to the recipe as posted on livestrong.com. There you will be able to see exactly which ingredients I used, and if you have a livestrong.com account (which is free), you can personalize the recipe by substituting in the ingredients you use. I use livestrong.com to calculate the nutrition information of the recipes I make and to count calories. I am not paid by them or anything like that, it’s just the tool I’ve found easiest to use for the best price (free!!). You do not have to have a livestrong.com account to access the recipe information, only to modify the recipe. Hopefully this new way of providing nutritional data will be helpful for everyone, but if you have any questions or concerns please let me know.

Mushroom Barley Stew

2 teaspoons canola oil
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 medium onion, chopped
8 ounces mushrooms, chopped
2 large carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 1/4 cup unsalted broth
3/4 cup Water
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon reduced sodium steak seasoning (like Dale’s)
15 ounces diced tomatoes, no salt added
1 cup instant barley
1 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and pepper, to taste

In a large soup pot, heat 2 tsp of oil over medium-high heat. Add the crushed red pepper flakes, onions and mushrooms and cook over medium-high heat, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes. Pour in the Worcestershire sauce and steak seasoning. Add the carrots, celery, and garlic and cook for 5 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Add the broth, tomatoes, barley, and thyme and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer until the barley is cooked, about 20 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Yields 4 generous 1 1/2 cup servings.
Adapted from Ellie’s Krieger’s Beef and Mushroom Barley Soup found in “The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life” on p. 89

January 24, 2011. recipes.

2 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    This was so good…I was surprised at how much we liked this soup. Fun to have you back and I am looking forward to five days of CEiMB!

  2. Bri replied:

    Welcome back, Liz! I’ve missed you! It’s a great idea, doing five days of CEIMB to catch up. I’ll make sure to keep checking back.

    Thanks a lot for the livestrong info. I’m heading over there to check it out later. I sit here with my pad of paper, pen, and calculator week after week calculating nutritional stats; livestrong sounds soooo much easier! So I owe you one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

