CEiMB: Slow Cooker Baked Beans with Ham


I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before or not, but I want to make it known that I am a dried bean convert. I’m not saying I’ll never use canned beans again because, let’s be honest, they are seriously convenient, but I am saying I much prefer the taste, texture, and price of dried beans. Now that I’ve tried them, it’s hard to believe I avoided cooking with them for so long. For those of you who haven’t tried them, I know exactly why you haven’t. They seem like a complicated pain in the backside, right? Well, they’re not. Yes, it takes a little extra planning, but I promise it will be worth it!

I haven’t completely figured out how to substitute them in to recipes that call for canned beans, but I’m learning. For this dish, I decided to try putting everything in the slow cooker once I was done soaking the beans for the sake of convenience. I halved the recipe since I’m the only one who likes baked beans, but I forgot to reduce the mustard and vinegar accordingly. Oops. In the end, I’m actually glad I didn’t halve those ingredients since the beans needed a bit more flavor. Unfortunately, this just wasn’t a hit. I did eat them, but I don’t think I’ll be making this recipe again. It seems like this recipe wasn’t a huge hit among the CEiMB group, but I’m still glad Danica from Danica’s Daily chose it because it’s one I had been eyeing and needed an excuse to try.

Slow Cooker Baked Beans with Ham

1/2 cup dry Great Northern beans
1/2 cup onion, chopped
6 ounces ham, diced
1 teaspoon minced garlic
8 ounces crushed tomatoes
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons molasses
1 tablespoon whole grain mustard
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Place dry beans in large saucepan with enough water to cover them, about 3 cups. Bring to rapid boil on medium-high heat; boil 2 minutes. Remove from heat; cover and let stand 1 hour. Drain and rinse beans. Alternatively, you may soak the beans overnight in cold water, then drain and rinse.

Transfer beans to slow cooker. Add remaining ingredients. Stir until well combined. Cook on low for 4-6 hours, or until beans are tender. Top with a sprinkle of brown sugar, if desired.

Yields approximately 3 cups.
Adapted from Ellie Krieger’s Baked Beans with Ham from “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week” p. 179

January 27, 2011. recipes.

5 Comments

  1. Peggy replied:

    I came looking for fettucine and instead got ham and beans and it just looks so delicious! What kind of ham did you use? I am curious because I have to make some quiche this weekend and I need some good ham for them but I seriously do not want to purchase a whole baking ham for a quiche. Ya know?

  2. Joanne replied:

    If I remember, I think the dish needed more flavor as well. Still – it looks so good!

  3. Bri replied:

    I’m glad you said that about the dried beans because I am new to the bean world. I have taken baby steps with canned beans, but haven’t even thought about attempting dried! Now I know it’s not impossible! Thank you.

  4. Kayte replied:

    These look wonderful. You are right, I always just go the canned variety of beans for the reason you said, and I need to branch out a bit as I know the taste is better. Thanks for the encouragement.

  5. April in CT replied:

    It certainly looks tasty! I’ve read you can cook the beans up and freeze them in 2 cup portions and sub in recipes calling for canned. I do plan on implementing this in my kitchen as soon as I make room in my way-too-full freezer.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

