CEiMB: Walnut, Cranberry, and Chocolate Bars


OK, guys, this post is going to wrap up CEiMB week. Gotta end with a little something sweet, right? Well, on top of a recipe, I’ve got a sweet deal for you: a chance to win a $20 gift card to CSN Stores! For those of you unfamiliar with CSN Stores, they have over 200 online stores where you can find everything from tv tables to fantastic fitness equipment to cookware! This is my second time partnering with them to bring you guys a little reward for your loyal readership, so I’m very excited to offer this chance to you again. Details on how to enter are at the bottom of this post.

Since I’m sure you’re all excited to enter, I’ll keep the rest of the post short and sweet. I changed the recipe up quite a bit based on what I had in my cupboards already, plus I added a bit of chocolate to make them more appealing to my chocoholic. I’ve been eating them for breakfast and find them quite filling, but I’m still not sure I think they’re worth the calories for such a small serving. Poor Heide at Chez Zero hated them and felt awful for choosing them, but I thought they were pretty good. If you decide to make them, add the chocolate, and let me know what you think. Be sure to come back next Thursday for more CEiMB treats :)

Walnut, Cranberry, and Chocolate Bars

1 cup quick-cooking oats
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup toasted wheat germ
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup honey
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup canola oil
1/3 cup liquid egg whites
3/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1 ounce semisweet baking chocolate, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oats, flour, wheat germ, cinnamon and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the honey, applesauce, oil, egg and egg white until well combined. Stir in the oatmeal mixture until well combined. Add the dried cranberries, chopped chocolate, and walnuts.

Coat an 8-inch square baking pan with cooking spray. Spread the mixture into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 30 to 35 minutes. Cool completely and cut into 12 bars, about 4 by 1 1/2 inches each.

12 servings
Modified from Ellie Krieger’s Walnut and Dried Cherry Bars from “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week” on p. 40




















HOW TO ENTER THE $20 CSN STORES GIFT CARD GIVEAWAY:
Visit one or more of the CSN Stores and leave a comment telling me what you would spend the gift card on if you win.

For additional entries, you may complete each of the following, then come back and leave another comment for each one you’ve completed. Each comment is one entry, and you can have a maximum of four entries total.
1) Follow me on twitter @notsoskinnyliz, or if you already follow me, tweet about this giveaway.
2) Like TNSSK on facebook, or if you are already a fan, recommend the page to your friends.
3) Post a link on your blog alerting your readers to this giveaway.

Thanks to CSN Stores for providing this awesome giveaway to my readers. This contest is open to US & Canadian Residents only. There may be shipping charges or in the case of Canadian readers, international fees, for certain products.

All entries must be submitted by 11:59 PM on Friday, February 4, 2011. I will randomly select one winner using random.org and announce the winner by Monday, February 7, 2011. Good luck!

January 28, 2011. recipes.

23 Comments

  1. Heather replied:

    I’ll have to try these. I prefer anything in bar from since my tiny 1960’s oven can only handle 18 cookies at a time.

  2. domestic diva replied:

    I’d get a set of Pyrex mixing bowls. No more plastic!

  3. Alex replied:

    http://www.cookware.com/Calphalon-1758439-CPH1574.html?cv=
    The Calphalon 10″ and 12″ pans. When I moved into Bobby’s he had THE WORST COOKWARE EVER, on top of being a single dad that never cooks, unless its spaghetti or in the microwave. I’ve turned his life around, lol. I think, even if he didn’t love me so much, he would keep me around because I cook for him, and its good food! I can’t even remember how many times I’ve made something (even something as simple as sauteeing a porkchop and serving it with mashed potatoes), and he’s said it’s the best thing he’s ever eaten.

  4. Alex replied:

    I also linked you on facebook, and on my tumblr.
    :)

  5. Ashley H replied:

    I’d get a kettle bell.

  6. Amy replied:

    I shared your post on FB and will re-tweet after this comment.

    I would use it to buy awesome cookware for my new apartment. :)

    Those bars look so yummy. I will have to try those too!

  7. Bri replied:

    I loved these bars; I keep them in my freezer and pull them out whenever I need them. Also, I think just about everyone agreed that these were much better with chocolate!

    If I were to win a CSN gift card, I would finally spring for either a mini-bundt pan set or a mini tart pan set. I’m a baking fiend, what can I say?

  8. Tweets that mention The Not So Skinny Kitchen – CEiMB: Walnut, Cranberry, and Chocolate Bars -- Topsy.com replied:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amy, Liz. Liz said: Check out my latest CEiMB recipe and a CSN Stores GIVEAWAY!! http://thenotsoskinnykitchen.com/ceimb-walnut-cranberry-and-chocolate-bars/ […]

  9. Jean replied:

    I would put it towards a new set of dishes…undecided on which ones too many caught my eye!!

  10. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I would love to get this bakeware
    set from csn stores:
    http://www.csnstores.com/5-Piece-Burgundy-Bakeware-Set-SSS1143.html
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  11. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I follow you on twitter! @crazyitalian0
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  12. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I like you on FB “Crave to Save”
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  13. Gina @ The Crave to Save replied:

    I blogged about your giveaway
    http://www.thecravetosave.com/in-it-to-win-it/
    gina.m.maddox (at) gmail (dot) com

  14. Aubrey Laine replied:

    I’d buy their Chilewich Table Runner :)

  15. Aubrey Laine replied:

    I like you on Facebook
    aubreyfick@yahoo.com

  16. Aubrey Laine replied:

    I follow you on twitter as aubreyfick
    aubreyfick@yahoo.com

  17. Carolsue replied:

    I would get the DanyaB Tulip Hand Painted Glass Vase in Pink and White
    digicat {AT} sbcglobal {DOT} net

  18. Carolsue replied:

    I like you on Facebook
    Carol Anderson with the following e-mail address:
    digicats {AT} sbcglobal {DOT} net

  19. Carolsue replied:

    I posted this giveaway on my Blog
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2010/01/csn-stores-giveaways.htmlml
    digicat {AT} sbcglobal {DOT} net

  20. Carolsue replied:

    I follow you on Twitter @cezovski
    digicat {AT} sbcglobal {DOT} net

  21. Jennai replied:

    My choice would be the Rhythm Study Melody Clock in Pink if I won
    HobartsMama {AT} AOL.COM

  22. Jennai replied:

    I like you on Facebook as Jennifer Keefer
    HobartsMama {at} aol.com

  23. Rachel in NC replied:

    I would get an electric kettle…I’ve really been wanting to drink tea in the afternoons at work!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

