CEiMB: Shrimp Fried Rice with Cabbage


Have you ever used crutches? If not, you may be like me in that you’ve seen other people using them and thought to yourself that it doesn’t look too hard to do. Well, you, like me, would be wrong. You see, I was given crutches yesterday because I’ve sprained my ankle. It only took me about two seconds to realize what a pain in the bum they are. Don’t get me wrong, I never thought walking with crutches looked like fun, but I completely underestimated how hard it would be! I’ve decided that the better way to keep off my ankle would be to sit on the sofa with my foot propped up on some pillows. Doesn’t that sound better?

So as I recover from this doozy, I imagine my recipes will be a little on the simple side. As you can imagine, it’s a bit hard to hobble around the kitchen in this condition, and I plan to rely heavily on ready-to-go items. And this recipe was the perfect fit for meeting that requirement. It was fast (since I had already cooked and refrigerated the brown rice) and easy. I only had to stand long enough to slice a few green onions and mix it all together in the wok. I was worried that the dish would be a little bland because there aren’t many ingredients, but it was completely delicious! The sesame oil added a nice, nutty flavor which complemented the brown rice well. This will definitely be a recipe I’ll make again and again. Thanks to Sarah of Sarah’s Kitchen Adventures for picking this CEiMB recipe a couple weeks ago!

Be sure you check out yesterday’s post for the chance to win a new cookbook!

Shrimp Fried Rice with Cabbage

1 tablespoon canola oil
4 green onions, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
2 teaspoons garlic, minced
12 ounces large shrimp, peeled and cleaned, quartered
5 cups shredded cabbage
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
4 cups cooked brown rice, refrigerated until very cold
3 tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce

Heat the canola oil in a very large nonstick skillet or wok over a high heat. Add the scallions, ginger, garlic, and shrimp and cook stirring frequently until the shrimp turn pink, about 1 1/2 minutes. Add the cabbage and continue cooking until it begins to soften, but is still somewhat crisp, about 2 minutes more. Transfer the shrimp-cabbage mixture to a bowl.

Heat the sesame oil in the same skillet or wok over a medium-high heat. Add the rice and cook stirring frequently, until heated through, about 3 minutes. Add the shrimp-cabbage mixture back to the skillet, stir in the soy sauce and serve.

4 servings, approximately 2 cups each
Source: Ellie Krieger’s “So Easy: Luscious, Healthy Recipes for Every Meal of the Week,” p. 158

February 24, 2011. recipes.

7 Comments

  1. Marthe replied:

    Not being a huge fan of shrimp and preocupied with school I decided to skip this one, it looks really nice though!

  2. peggy replied:

    Girl, I feel your pain. I was on crutches for 12 weeks a couple of years ago. The good news is it builds beautiful arm muscles! Try not to put your weight into your armpits tho. I’m so sorry about your ankle. The fried rice looks great. I wish I could do shrimp but I can’t.

  3. Joanne replied:

    I’ve never been on crutches (better knock on wood the way things are going this winter). Good luck working through that sprained ankle.
    The dish looks great! Love Shrimp and rice.

  4. Shandy replied:

    You poor thing! I hope your sprained ankle gets better ASAP!

    Love the shrimp fried rice with brown rice; YUM! I am glad you found a recipe that worked for you while you are recooperating.

  5. Dani replied:

    Crutches or no crutches the simple side is where I like my recipes to be:) This looks great and I almost always have brown rice in the fridge. As for your ankle… feel better soon!!!

  6. Bri replied:

    Oh, no! I’m sorry that I am just now learning of your sprained ankle. I hope you are back on your (crutch-less!) feet soon! As for the shrimp fried rice, this was a huge, huge winner at my house! In fact, seeing your picture kinda makes me crave it all over again! I might be making that in the next week or so!

  7. Chaya replied:

    I hope you are feeling better now and getting around more easily.

    Please come on by and pick up an award.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

