CEiMB: Banana "Ice Cream" with Pineapple Brown Sugar Topping


Growing up, I really didn’t eat many sweets. My family just did not have lots of snacks around, and we rarely ate dessert. I do remember special treats like a big bowl of strawberries or pudding or my favorite ice cream, but that was an exception, not a rule. While most kids were gobbling up all their Halloween candy, ours was sitting in the pantry until we cleaned it out the following year. Weird, right?

Ryan, on the other hand, talks about Party Time with his Pop Pop and his face still lights up twenty years later! Apparently his grandfather liked to spoil him – and does so to this day :) Party Time consisted of eating lots of junk food in the back of a conversion van while watching cartoons, from what I can gather. Ryan’s mom is a tad more health-minded and so this was a big excitement for young Ryan and his sweet tooth.

This sweet tooth, by the way, has only grown over the years. No matter what we eat for dinner, the night is not complete until Ryan has some form of dessert. Candy, ice cream, cookies, cake, chocolate… it doesn’t matter. If there is no dessert in the apartment, and I don’t mean fruit, yogurt, or pudding cups, I will hear “So, what’s for dessert? Should I go out and get something?” an hour or so after dinner without fail. Needless to say, this style of eating has not been kind to my waistline, because even though Ryan has a man’s metabolism and can eat whatever he wants, I was not graced with those kinds of genetics.

I am constantly trying to come up with things that can appease Ryan’s sweet tooth while also falling into the category of mildly healthy. This is not an easy task, but Ellie Krieger is known for reaching this compromise with her recipes so I was quite excited for this week’s CEiMB recipe: Banana Splits with Pineapple Brown Sugar Topping. I decided to change the recipe up slightly based on ingredients I already had because there is nothing better than a recipe that doesn’t require a trip to the store, right?

So first let’s talk about the ice cream. Ellie’s version calls for vanilla light ice cream or frozen yogurt. I decided to make my own, one-ingredient banana “ice cream.” It’s not as impressive as it sounds. You simply slice a banana, freeze it, then dump the slices into a food processor and blend until creamy. Easy, easy. And it really does become the consistency of ice cream – nice and creamy. And sweet. Don’t think it will replace your favorite gourmet pint, but it is a nice frozen treat nonetheless.

The pineapple topping is also very easy to make and takes only a few minutes. I doubled the sugar. I know, not very healthy, but the topping was pretty sour to me. Even after I doubled the sugar, it was just too sour against the sweet banana ice cream. Coming from me, who picks tart over sweet every time, that is really saying something. I don’t know if it was the pineapple I used, the lemon juice, or just the contrast against the sweetness of the bananas, but I found the two flavors to be at war with each other. And, not surprisingly, my sweets lover didn’t enjoy this dessert in the least…

I didn’t fool him with this sundae, but I won’t stop trying. Next time I think I’ll just pick something from Shandy’s blog, Pastry Heaven, because she features some of the most delicious-looking desserts!

Banana “Ice Cream” with Pineapple Brown Sugar Topping

3 medium bananas
1 cup pineapple chunks in juice
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon turbinado sugar

First, peel and thinly slice your bananas. Freeze them for at least 2 hours.

To make the pineapple topping, combine the pineapple, lemon juice, sugar and cinnamon in a medium saucepan. Cook over a medium heat, uncovered, stirring occasionally until the sugar is dissolved and the juice is reduced somewhat, about 3 minutes. Set aside to cool slightly.

While topping is cooling, place banana slices in food processor or blender. Blend until creamy, scraping down the sides of the blender when they stick.

Divide banana ice cream into bowls, and spoon pineapple mixture over top. Sprinkle raw sugar over the top; serve immediately.

makes 4 sundaes

March 7, 2011. recipes.

4 Comments

  1. Kayte replied:

    We loved this one…yours looks delicious. That said, the next night they wanted me to make it again, so I did, and they were drizzling fudge sauce over it and asking if I could whip up some cream. Hmmmm….

  2. Bri replied:

    It’s so funny, your story about Ryan and you could easily be a story I would tell about my husband and I. The difference is that he’s the non-sweet eater and I’m the one whose night isn’t complete without dessert! I’m still trying to get him on board with nightly desserts, but it’s been an uphill battle :) I did not make this one because I’m super weird and dislike most fruit. Hubby would have liked it, but he had an out-of-town trip last week, so it didn’t work out.

  3. Joanne replied:

    We love bananas. I can’t imagine not liking this version of it. Next time, I’m using FRESH pineapple instead of the canned. What a diff. that will make.

  4. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies replied:

    Mmm, I’ve tried this banana ice cream before and loved it. But, your idea of pairing it with that luscious topping sounds even better. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your dessert up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

