Which 'Wich? Weekend: All-in-One Breakfast Sandwich


A few weeks ago, I was contacted by Eric of Quirk Books to see if I would like to review a copy of a new cookbook by Susan Russo of Food Blogga titled “The Encyclopedia of Sandwiches: Recipes, History, and Trivia for Everything Between Sliced Bread” and of course I told him YES! As we all know, I have a slight cookbook obsession and am always on the hunt for new recipes. Not to mention that the book promises to “ensure every Panini is toasted to perfection and every Sloppy Joe is delectably sloppy.” How could I turn that down??

Since I wanted to make this fun for everyone, I will be posting a “Which ‘Wich? Weekend” (as in “Which Sandwich will Liz make this weekend?”) each weekend in April featuring a new recipe from the book. Of course, I could have just picked one, but there were too many good ones to choose from for that! Seriously, Ryan and I were both drooling over these recipes. You might be thinking, like I originally did, “how many different sandwiches can there really be?” The answer is, there are a ton. Well, two hundred and eight two pages worth at least. And the best part of this chunky little cookbook is that there is a picture of each recipe (taken by Matt Armendariz of Matt Bites)! I am so spoiled by food blogs that I really struggle with cookbooks that are full of photos, so this is a huge plus for me.

Now, on top of offering a new recipe every week, I will also be hosting a giveaway at the end of the month. Since I am enjoying this book so much and was given the opportunity to try out this book for free, I am going to pass on the love and send one lucky reader a copy of their own! Here’s how it’s going to work: Each week, with the WWW post, I will ask a question, and all you have to do to enter is answer the weekly question. At the end of the month, I will compile a list of all the answers and randomly select one winner. Obviously, the more questions you answer, the more chances you will have to win, and I might offer some bonus chances as well, so stay tuned :D

But enough chatting. On to the recipe!

You might wonder how I chose this recipe first, and the simple truth is that it’s the first one pictured. While I am not usually a huge breakfast fan, I do enjoy breakfast sandwiches. Something about the idea of layering all the savory breakfast favorites I usually go for between two waffles intrigued me. While I wanted to stay as true to the recipe as possible, I just couldn’t get behind runny eggs, so I ended up making a “scrambled egg patty” in the microwave. I also used pre-cooked bacon and frozen waffles to keep this quick and easy. My potatoes were on the side, alongside roasted asparagus. And since Ryan was not having any part of this, he coated his waffles with peanut butter and jelly. It was a Sunday brunch fit for royalty! I wasn’t too sure about the sandwich at first, but it grew on me the more I ate. In the end, I think I’ll stick to keeping my savory bacon and eggs on one plate and my sweets on another, but that is personal preference. Ryan, on the other hand, said the PBJ version was quite tasty.

Tell me, what is the strangest thing you’ve eaten for breakfast?

All-in-One Breakfast Sandwich

2 multigrain waffles
1 egg + 1 egg white
3 strips pre-cooked bacon
1 slice sharp cheddar cheese
maple syrup (optional)

Toast waffles until golden and hot. Add eggs, bacon, and cheese. Serve drizzled with maple syrup, if desired.

Makes 1 sandwich
Adapted from “The Encyclopedia of Sandwiches,” p. 3

April 3, 2011. recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

