Double Breaded Pork Chops

I would like to thank Meg of FatGirlEats for doing a guest post for me last week! I’ve got some personal stuff going on that has sort of monopolized my time and energy lately. Last week was especially challenging, and I really appreciate Meg stepping in to keep you all entertained in my absence. She is a fantastic blogger and an amazing person, so you should definitely check out her blog if you haven’t already. I’ve never had corn pudding before, but it looks and sounds delicious. Our Thanksgiving plans are a bit up in the air right now, but I think Meg’s dish might make an appearance!

Maybe some of you have noticed that I haven’t been posting WW POINTS information for quite a while now, and maybe you have also noticed a shift away from healthy and light recipes. I’m not sure how all of you deal, but for me, when I’m going through stressful times, I tend to turn towards comfort foods. And sometimes when life gets super chaotic, as it is right now, I just don’t even want to think about what I’ll make for dinner let alone worry about how healthy it is. We’ve been eating a lot of takeout, a lot of fast food, and a lot of crap which is why there has been no WW POINTS information. Sadly, I can’t say I’ve really been following the plan lately. And, trust me, even if you didn’t notice the unhealthy trend, my scale and pants have. Normally these are not things I would discuss on here, I mean, I prefer to keep what my scale says and how tight my pants are to myself, but I’m mentioning it now to sort of motivate myself back towards the healthier end of the spectrum.

Now, all that said, I think you can probably gather from the name Double Breaded Pork Chops that this recipe is not healthier. Obviously all that stuff I said about eating healthier, well, it’s true, but it didn’t start until recently, and I have a few more recipes to share first :)

Any time I think of fried pork chops, I am transported back to my grandmother’s house. She used to have this jar of bacon grease in the fridge, and I’m sure it was that extra bit of artery-clogging goodness that really made her pork chops amazing. I hate frying things because I actually like the skin on my arms and don’t feel the need to punish it by having hot oil splatter on it. BUT, if I was going to indulge in frying one thing, it would be pork chops in the hopes that they would taste like my grandma’s.

I can’t say this recipe lived up to grandma’s recipe, but they were quite good. I cut back significantly on the spices thinking it must have been a typo that the original recipe called for tablespoons instead of teaspoons, and my chops came out a little bland. Maybe it was supposed to be tablespoons, though that still seems like a lot to me. The coating was nice and crunchy, and I liked letting them bake for a while so they didn’t retain any greasiness. I still think I prefer broiling or baking marinated pork chops, but this was a nice change of pace, especially for Ryan.

Double Breaded Pork Chops
Cooking Spray
2 tablespoons canola oil
4 boneless pork loin chops
1 cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs
1/2 cup whole wheat panko bread crumbs
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon of pepper
1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
2 eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons milk
4 dashes hot sauce

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Prepare large cookie sheet by spraying with cooking spray and set aside.
2) In a large bowl combine Italian seasoned bread crumbs, Panko bread crumbs, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and mix thoroughly. Set aside.
3) In a separate medium bowl combine eggs, milk, and hot sauce. Set aside.
4) Take pork chops and pat dry with paper towel.
5) In a large skillet heat canola oil over medium-high heat.
6) While oil is heating set up a breading station for your pork chops, as follows:
* Dip pork chop in egg wash, flipping to coat both sides evenly. Let the extra egg wash run off back into the bowl.
* Place egg coated pork chop into the bread crumb mixture, flipping and evenly coating with bread crumbs on all sides.
* Dip bread crumb coated pork chop back into the egg wash, flipping to coat again with egg wash on all sides (over the bread crumb mixture)
* Place pork chop back into the bread crumb mixture again, flipping to coat again with bread crumb mixture.
7) Once pork chop has been double coated with both egg and bread crumbs, place in skillet, turning once to brown on both sides-approximately 3 minutes per side. (Please note: Pork chop will not be cooked through, this step is just for browning.)
8) Once pork chop is brown on both sides, place on waiting cookie sheet.
9) Repeat steps 6-8 with remaining pork chops.
10) Once all pork chops have been browned and placed on cookie sheet, place cookie sheet in oven for 25-30 minutes to finish cooking pork chops.

Source: Notes from the Table

November 16, 2009. Notes from the Table.

2 Comments

  1. Fat Girl Eats replied:

    Awww! Thanks, sweetie! It was a total blast to write for you. Any time you need a break, you let me know! :)

  2. Lu replied:

    Delicious looking food! I totally want to eat breaded pork chops now.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI